Screen Resolution...Fedora problem or Virtual Box?

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Mac OS X hosts.
wxie

Screen Resolution...Fedora problem or Virtual Box?

Post by wxie »

Hello. I'm Walt, and I'm new to Linux. I decided to play around with Fedora 9 via Virtual Box, and it went fine with the installation, until I got to the desktop of Fedora.

[Image

As you can see, this represents a large Virtual Box window, with a large Fedora screen resolution inside. I don't know how to size it down, and I even went inside Fedora's Display, but it said the resolution was "640x480", or something like that. It was the smallest screen size, and the Virtual Box Adjust Window Option didn't work either. Please help!
baf
Volunteer
Primary OS: Mac OS X Leopard
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: linux,xp,win7

Post by baf »

Have you installed the guest additions ?
Some say: "You learn as long as you live".
My way: "You live as long as you learn".
sej7278
Volunteer
Primary OS: Debian other
Guest OSses: Solaris, Linux, Windows, OS/2, MacOSX, FreeBSD

Post by sej7278 »

baf wrote:Have you installed the guest additions ?
that won't help as A) guest additions for linux are broken in 2.1.0, and B) they never worked for fedora9 anyway due to wrong version of xorg.
esmail9

Post by esmail9 »

sej7278 wrote:
baf wrote:Have you installed the guest additions ?
that won't help as A) guest additions for linux are broken in 2.1.0,
Can you elaborate?

I am struggling with getting Ubuntu 8.10 to work as a guest under XP.
Right after I installed it and the guest addition the graphics worked well, ie if I resized the VB window, the Linux window also resized. However, now it's not working, I get:

(EE) VBoxVideo(0): Output VBOX1 enabled but has no modes
(EE) VBoxVideo(0): initial CRTC configuration failed!
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.

and it boots in failsafe mode.

I suspect I may have a problem with the Driver entry in my xorg.conf.