TrueNAS External HDD problems

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Mac OS X hosts.
Solarczar

TrueNAS External HDD problems

Post by Solarczar »

Hey guys,

New to VB over the last 6mths. I'm not a chef, but I think I'm a good cook, and trying to follow recipes to add TrueNAS on a VB VM running on a recycled 2010 MacBook Pro with High Sierra MacOS. I'm struggling to solve what I hope is a simple answer. I have a 14Tb USB physical drive that is partitioned (expecting to use for 2 separate VM's). I'm running TrueNAS on a FreeBSD (whatever that is) instance and it's working great so far. I just don't have any storage capability, because it can't see the drive. Turned on USB and added the SeaGate Disk in VB settings. I tried the Vboxmanage command to prepare the .vmdk pointer to the disk partition, but I get VERR_ACCESS_DENIED when I add it as a disk in my VM storage settings. Some have suggested I run my VB instance as root, but that doesn't feel right. I have been reading/reading/reading, but I'm not finding anything that is helpful.

Apologies if this is a rookie question, but I don't know where to go and I have to go somewhere to learn. Thanks in advance.
scottgus1
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: TrueNAS External HDD problems

Post by scottgus1 »

Solarczar wrote: I tried the Vboxmanage command to prepare the .vmdk pointer to the disk partition,
This quite likely means that you are trying Raw Disk Access, which is definitely not a "rookie" process. There are lots of possibilities to damage good data if you make the pointer file wrong or the host computer decides to re-enumerate the disks one day and the pointer file points to a different disk.
Solarczar wrote:I get VERR_ACCESS_DENIED
On Windows hosts every step of Raw Disk Access must be Run As Administrator. Possibly Mac requires similar, meaning running as 'root' would probably be required.