Failed to start Win10 VM after upgrade to 6.1.32

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Mac OS X hosts.
Post Reply
katsumin
Posts: 3
Joined: 26. Jan 2022, 09:15

Failed to start Win10 VM after upgrade to 6.1.32

Post by katsumin »

Hi,
I have used a Win10 VM on the VirtualBox 6.1.28 on BigSur with latest fix.
After updating the VirtualBox to 6.1.32, the VM fails to start by the error. The issue still exists after upgrading the OS to Monterey.

Failed to open VM "Win10" session.
Could not launch the VM process for the machine 'Win10' (VERR_PROC_NO_ARG_TRANSLATION).
exit code : VBOX_E_IPRT_ERROR (0x80BB0005)
component: MachineWrap
interface: IMachine {85632c68-b5bb-4316-a900-5eb28d3413df}

I can uninstall 6.1.32 successfully, but reinstalling 6.1.28 fails.
scottgus1
Site Moderator
Posts: 20965
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: Failed to start Win10 VM after upgrade to 6.1.32

Post by scottgus1 »

That's a new one! Web-searching doesn't find anything except the Virtualbox source code, which says:
/** Unable to translate one or more of the arguments to the codeset the child process is expected to use. */
#define VERR_PROC_NO_ARG_TRANSLATION (-22425)
If 'codeset' has anything to do with system languages or such, could you try to set everything on the host to English and try the VM again?

Or wait for a forum source code guru to weigh in in what this error might be pointing at.
fth0
Volunteer
Posts: 5668
Joined: 14. Feb 2019, 03:06
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Linux, Windows 10, ...
Location: Germany

Re: Failed to start Win10 VM after upgrade to 6.1.32

Post by fth0 »

scottgus1 wrote:If 'codeset' has anything to do with system languages or such, could you try to set everything on the host to English and try the VM again?
I don't understand the finer details, but the issue has to do with a failing conversion of an argument to UTF-8 and is probably related to the system locale on the host. Perhaps you should take a look at the following environment variables: LC_ALL, LC_CTYPE and LANG.
katsumin
Posts: 3
Joined: 26. Jan 2022, 09:15

Re: Failed to start Win10 VM after upgrade to 6.1.32

Post by katsumin »

Thanks scottgus1 and fth0.

Here is the setting on MAC.

LANG="ja_JP.UTF8"
LC_CTYPE="ja_JP.UTF8"
LC_ALL=(blank)

I modify the locale to English and reboot the OS.

LANG="C"
LC_CTYPE="C"
LC_ALL=(blank)

It does not change the situation. Same error is appeared.
I report the VM name as "Win10", but it is actually "Win10"+several DBCS characters. Does this relate to the issue?
Davedono
Posts: 1
Joined: 27. Jan 2022, 18:36

Re: Failed to start Win10 VM after upgrade to 6.1.32

Post by Davedono »

Hi katsumin,

Just Possibility...
If the error occurred soon later to click launch button, GUI went wrong.
In that case, launch via CLI might work.

1) Find UUID of target VM

Code: Select all

VBoxManage list vms
2) Launch the target VM

Code: Select all

VBoxManage startvm UUID
Good luck.
Dave
fth0
Volunteer
Posts: 5668
Joined: 14. Feb 2019, 03:06
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Linux, Windows 10, ...
Location: Germany

Re: Failed to start Win10 VM after upgrade to 6.1.32

Post by fth0 »

FWIW, there's a ticket in the Bugtracker with a similar issue: 20792.
fth0
Volunteer
Posts: 5668
Joined: 14. Feb 2019, 03:06
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Linux, Windows 10, ...
Location: Germany

Re: Failed to start Win10 VM after upgrade to 6.1.32

Post by fth0 »

katsumin wrote:LANG="C"
LC_CTYPE="C"
Better try LANG="en_US.UTF8" and LC_CTYPE="en_US.UTF8". UTF8 is the wanted standard, and "C" gives ASCII instead of UTF8.
klaus
Oracle Corporation
Posts: 1110
Joined: 10. May 2007, 14:57

Re: Failed to start Win10 VM after upgrade to 6.1.32

Post by klaus »

There should be additional information logged in VBoxSVC.log (on macOS in $HOME/Library/VirtualBox/VBoxSVC.log) about what exactly is going wrong with the process start and dealing with the encoding of the command line.

Until we have more information it's impossible to say much intelligent here. This error is related to constructing the entire process command line, and that includes the full path of the executable. Right now my guess is that the VirtualBox install location has characters in them which go beyond what VirtualBox considers as likely usable UTF-8.

Tweaking the environment isn't hard, but there are a million ways to do it wrong, i.e. that the values in the processes where it would matter are not what is intended. Besides, C locale is defined to use ASCII encoding which will cause failure if anything outside the 7-bit ASCII set comes near VirtualBox. On a Japanese setup that's asking for more trouble than before.

Regarding downgrade: keep in mind that the oldest VirtualBox version which works with Monterey is 6.1.30. Not much downgrade opportunity.
katsumin
Posts: 3
Joined: 26. Jan 2022, 09:15

Re: Failed to start Win10 VM after upgrade to 6.1.32

Post by katsumin »

Davedono, fto0 and klaus

Thanks for the comments, informaiton and suggestions.

I can start the VM in the end, but I need to change the VM name.
It seems that the issue 20972 that fth0 mentions causes my problem.

Here is the result.
o I can start the VM by "VBoxManage startvm UUID" under ja_JP.UTF-8.
o Setting the English to the first language and run the following command,
"sudo defauls write .GlobalPreferences AppleLocale en_US.UTF-8" and reboot --> This does not resolve the issue.
o Rename the VM to "Win10" from "Win10xx" (x is a double byte character) resolves the issue.

I saw the issue when I update to 6.1.30 under BigSur and guess 6.1.30 or later has the issue 20792.

Anyway thanks all.
fth0
Volunteer
Posts: 5668
Joined: 14. Feb 2019, 03:06
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Linux, Windows 10, ...
Location: Germany

Re: Failed to start Win10 VM after upgrade to 6.1.32

Post by fth0 »

Thanks for reporting back! :)
klaus
Oracle Corporation
Posts: 1110
Joined: 10. May 2007, 14:57

Re: Failed to start Win10 VM after upgrade to 6.1.32

Post by klaus »

Still very mysterious what's going wrong (would have been really helpful to get a log file, because that would hopefully allow to resolve this for good).
fth0
Volunteer
Posts: 5668
Joined: 14. Feb 2019, 03:06
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Linux, Windows 10, ...
Location: Germany

Re: Failed to start Win10 VM after upgrade to 6.1.32

Post by fth0 »

klaus wrote:would have been really helpful to get a log file
I could easily reproduce the issue and provided some VBoxSVC.log lines in 20792#comment:2.
pentagonik
Oracle Corporation
Posts: 283
Joined: 19. May 2008, 16:09
Primary OS: Ubuntu other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Too many to specify!
Contact:

Re: Failed to start Win10 VM after upgrade to 6.1.32

Post by pentagonik »

Test build 149712 for !VirtualBox 6.1 should contain fix -- you can get the latest test builds on the https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Testbuilds page.

Please let me know if this fixes the issue for you. Thank you!
fth0
Volunteer
Posts: 5668
Joined: 14. Feb 2019, 03:06
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Linux, Windows 10, ...
Location: Germany

Re: Failed to start Win10 VM after upgrade to 6.1.32

Post by fth0 »

pentagonik wrote:Please let me know if this fixes the issue for you. Thank you!
I've installed VirtualBox 6.1.33r149712 on the iMac with macOS Catalina, without disabling SIP (being connected via Screen Sharing). After starting the VM, the expected "Kernel drivers not installed (rc=-1908)" error was displayed. The VBoxSVC.log showed the message "Launched VM: 1984151760 pid: 2284 (0x8ec) frontend: GUI/Qt name: Empty-ü" instead of the previously encountered VERR_PROC_NO_ARG_TRANSLATION error.

From my POV, the issue is fixed. I can neither confirm nor deny that the VM would run, though. ;)
pentagonik
Oracle Corporation
Posts: 283
Joined: 19. May 2008, 16:09
Primary OS: Ubuntu other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Too many to specify!
Contact:

Re: Failed to start Win10 VM after upgrade to 6.1.32

Post by pentagonik »

Yes, this is to be expected -- without disabling SIP you cannot run VirtualBox test builds on macOS.
Post Reply