[SOLVED] Using a Virtualbox 4.3.40 VM on Virtualbox 6.0.14

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Linux hosts.

[SOLVED] Using a Virtualbox 4.3.40 VM on Virtualbox 6.0.14

Postby Wirezfree » 18. Jan 2020, 16:18

Hello..

I needed to resurrect an old PC with Ubuntu 14.04, about 5/6 years old...
It had Virtualbox 4.3.40 on it, with a WinXP VM that I need to use, that still runs fine.
I don't really want to be running another PC just for this.(Hobby application, not available above WinXP)

My current PC install is Linux Mint 19.2(Ubuntu 18.04) with Virtualbox 6.0.14 (everything up to date)

I "have" re-searched, but got confused...
Do I need to upgrade the old PC 4.3.40 to 5.x..then somehow to 6.x before moving the the XP VM
Sorry... If I'm confusing matters.!!
I read many mixed messages over just copying the "entire" 4.3.40 WinXP VM folder to my new PC and using the Machine > Add

Any guidance/pointers/help much appreciated.

Thanks :)
Last edited by Wirezfree on 19. Jan 2020, 04:19, edited 1 time in total.
Wirezfree
 
Posts: 40
Joined: 2. Mar 2014, 18:26

Re: Using a Virtualbox 4.3.40 VM on Virtualbox 6.0.14

Postby mpack » 18. Jan 2020, 16:58

Wirezfree wrote:Do I need to upgrade the old PC 4.3.40 to 5.x..then somehow to 6.x before moving the the XP VM

No. VirtualBox is mostly backwards compatible, there's no need to do it in stages. Going to VirtualBox 6.1.x would be a bigger jump, for that you'd want to prepare the VM (enable VT-x, disable 3D acceleration).

Anyway, what's the worst that could happen? VirtualBox destroys a copy of a working VM? I think you could survive that.

Howto: Move a VM.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 30960
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Using a Virtualbox 4.3.40 VM on Virtualbox 6.0.14

Postby Wirezfree » 18. Jan 2020, 17:25

Hello mpack,

Thanks for the prompt response.

O.K, all noted about preparing the XP VM 4.3.40 prior to copying across..
My new PC is all set-up, and have it working already with a Win7 VM all O.K

I will have to update GA's when I open up the XP VM.

Thanks again :)
Last edited by mpack on 18. Jan 2020, 18:25, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Delete unnecessary verbatim quote of previous post.
Wirezfree
 
Posts: 40
Joined: 2. Mar 2014, 18:26

[SOLVED] Using a Virtualbox 4.3.40 VM on Virtualbox 6.0.14

Postby Wirezfree » 19. Jan 2020, 04:19

Copied VM across to new PC, used Machine > Add
Initially had a VirtualBox Error when trying to "Add" the VM

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
Failed to open virtual machine located in /mnt/vms/OpSys/WinXP-Live/WinXP-Live.vbox.
Cannot register the DVD image '/usr/share/virtualbox/VBoxGuestAdditions.iso'
{8b9839e5-b5dd-40d2-ae29-c922855711bd}
because a CD/DVD image '/usr/share/virtualbox/VBoxGuestAdditions.iso' with UUID
{8ae697f7-e0da-4696-963e-05505926c841} already exists.

Result Code: NS_ERROR_INVALID_ARG (0x80070057)
Component: VirtualBoxWrap
Interface: IVirtualBox {d0a0163f-e254-4e5b-a1f2-011cf991c38d}


So edited the .vbox file and removed the reference to the old install GA location:

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
<DVDImages>
<Image uuid="{8b9839e5-b5dd-40d2-ae29-c922855711bd}" location="/usr/share/virtualbox/VBoxGuestAdditions.iso"/>
</DVDImages>


Then re-started the VM, booted up O.K, installed GA's O.K
"New Hardware Found"... Updated Driver for CPU, all O.K
Re-booted, All O.K no further prompts/message.
Wirezfree
 
Posts: 40
Joined: 2. Mar 2014, 18:26

Re: [SOLVED] Using a Virtualbox 4.3.40 VM on Virtualbox 6.0.14

Postby mpack » 19. Jan 2020, 10:45

Thanks for reporting back. Actually, making sure that all the virtual CD drives are empty is indeed another thing you can do before upgrading VirtualBox. In particular the GAs, since that is known to definitely be affected by the change.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 30960
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: [SOLVED] Using a Virtualbox 4.3.40 VM on Virtualbox 6.0.14

Postby Wirezfree » 19. Jan 2020, 13:46

mpack wrote:Thanks for reporting back. Actually, making sure that all the virtual CD drives are empty is indeed another thing you can do before upgrading VirtualBox. In particular the GAs, since that is known to definitely be affected by the change.


Yes... I will remember next time... If there is a next time :)
Wirezfree
 
Posts: 40
Joined: 2. Mar 2014, 18:26


Return to VirtualBox on Linux Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests