Nat network give same IP to hosts

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Linux hosts.

Nat network give same IP to hosts

Postby soysau » 17. Jan 2020, 13:19

I have 3 Ubuntu machines, all linked-cloned from first one. And I have a Nat Network with DHCP enabled. When I was on Virtualbox 5.x they were okey, but today I upgraded to 6.1 and the same hosts they all get the same IP 10.0.2.4/24. All MAC address are different.

They can barely ping to 1.1.1.1. They also resolve DNS. But they have all the same IP. I have some friends who have the same problem after upgrading.
soysau
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 17. Jan 2020, 13:10

Re: Nat network give same IP to hosts

Postby scottgus1 » 17. Jan 2020, 15:31

Please post the command outputs of these commands, as text in [code] tags:
vboxmanage list natnets
vboxmanage list dhcpservers


Also put all three guests' .vbox files in a zip folder and post the zip using the forum's Upload Attachment tab.
Human government is like that crazy uncle who hides a quarter in his fist behind his back, then asks you to guess which fist the quarter is in...
No matter which side you choose, Left or Right, both Sides are empty.
scottgus1
Volunteer
 
Posts: 6220
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: Nat network give same IP to hosts

Postby soysau » 20. Jan 2020, 11:34

scottgus1 wrote:Please post the command outputs of these commands, as text in code tags:
vboxmanage list natnets
vboxmanage list dhcpservers


Also put all three guests' .vbox files in a zip folder and post the zip using the forum's Upload Attachment tab.


Here are the output from vboxmanage list natnets

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
NetworkName:    RedNat
IP:             10.0.2.1
Network:        10.0.2.0/24
IPv6 Enabled:   No
IPv6 Prefix:    fd17:625c:f037:2::/64
DHCP Enabled:   Yes
Enabled:        Yes
Port-forwarding (ipv4)
        ssh1:tcp:[127.0.0.1]:2200:[10.0.2.100]:22
        ssh2:tcp:[127.0.0.1]:2201:[10.0.2.200]:22
loopback mappings (ipv4)
        127.0.0.1=2


This one from vboxmanage list dhcpservers

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
NetworkName:    HostInterfaceNetworking-vboxnet0
Dhcpd IP:       192.168.56.100
LowerIPAddress: 192.168.56.101
UpperIPAddress: 192.168.56.254
NetworkMask:    255.255.255.0
Enabled:        Yes
Global Configuration:
    minLeaseTime:     default
    defaultLeaseTime: default
    maxLeaseTime:     default
    Forced options:   None
    Suppressed opts.: None
        1/legacy: 255.255.255.0
Groups:               None
Individual Configs:   None

NetworkName:    NatNetwork
Dhcpd IP:       10.0.2.3
LowerIPAddress: 10.0.2.4
UpperIPAddress: 10.0.2.254
NetworkMask:    255.255.255.0
Enabled:        Yes
Global Configuration:
    minLeaseTime:     default
    defaultLeaseTime: default
    maxLeaseTime:     default
    Forced options:   None
    Suppressed opts.: None
        1/legacy: 255.255.255.0
        3/legacy: 10.0.2.1
        6/legacy: 10.0.2.1
Groups:               None
Individual Configs:   None

NetworkName:    RedNat
Dhcpd IP:       10.0.2.3
LowerIPAddress: 10.0.2.4
UpperIPAddress: 10.0.2.254
NetworkMask:    255.255.255.0
Enabled:        Yes
Global Configuration:
    minLeaseTime:     default
    defaultLeaseTime: default
    maxLeaseTime:     default
    Forced options:   None
    Suppressed opts.: None
        1/legacy: 255.255.255.0
        3/legacy: 10.0.2.1
        6/legacy: 10.0.2.1
Groups:               None
Individual Configs:   None


I also saw that this happens only in machines that are cloned from original one. So, this 3 machines are cloned from one. Link-clone.
This didn't happen in 5.x Virtualbox version.

Thanks for the reply!
Attachments
machines.zip
(4.29 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
soysau
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 17. Jan 2020, 13:10


Return to VirtualBox on Linux Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 36 guests