VirtualBox raw drive access using CLI shows only 32-bit guests

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Linux hosts.
ForeverFree

VirtualBox raw drive access using CLI shows only 32-bit guests

Post by ForeverFree »

Hello, I'm VERY new to Linux but not at all to PC's, only moderately so to VirtualBox; so let me begin by saying that while I'm a partial newb, I'm far from uncomfortable with advanced commands but my primary experience is from the windows environment - if there's anything I've missed providing please let me know or ask (sometimes I may ask a newb question of how) and I will do so (my best) hastily. I have literal decades of experience in the windows environment but I'm slowly eating the elephant and working towards moving my household to Linux and would love virtualbox to be a major component of that.

Question: How do I attach this raw disk image to a 64-bit VM using either of the 2 paths I've been trying, below?

My purpose:
I'm attempting to setup a VM with raw disk access to a secondary sata drive I reserve specifically for work. For various reasons, I need this VM to be 64 bit.

Problem: (2-fold)
Using the various info I've found online, I've been able to create the raw-disk .vmdk, but I have these 2 problems (hit these stops):

A) When I try to add it to my Virtualbox VM (ubuntu 64-bit), in the GUI, of course I get an auth error. So to bypass that I've been primarily chasing a solution on problem path B below, but if there's a way to bypass the auth error for the raw disk image for this path that I haven't found yet, I'm open to it.
1. Using the VB GUI I definitely have the option to create 64-bit guests.