Network Setup for Andriod-x86

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Linux hosts.

Network Setup for Andriod-x86

Postby awingnut » 10. Jan 2019, 17:20

I've installed Android-x86 as a VB OS. I've read lots of articles about how to set up the network but I guess I am not understanding them because nothing works. My host does not have any wifi capability but from what I read, VB would not be allowed to access it anyway. So the question is how do I set VB's network so Android thinks it is connected to a wifi but uses the host NIC? TIA.
awingnut
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 28. Aug 2015, 19:34

Re: Network Setup for Andriod-x86

Postby socratis » 10. Jan 2019, 17:54

Doesn't the default NAT work for you? I remember it did for me last time I tried Android-x86...
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25232
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: Network Setup for Andriod-x86

Postby awingnut » 10. Jan 2019, 18:05

No. What choose NAT VB does not seem to indicate any network activity and I eventually get the cannot connect to internet message. I tried some of the other choices but none seem to help.
awingnut
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 28. Aug 2015, 19:34

Re: Network Setup for Andriod-x86

Postby socratis » 10. Jan 2019, 18:11

OK, I'll try it again. Which ISO/version did you download, exactly please?
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25232
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: Network Setup for Andriod-x86

Postby awingnut » 10. Jan 2019, 18:21

Thanks.

android-x86-8.1-rc2.iso

FWIW, I do see network traffic when I use bridged but I still cannot seem to connect to the internet.
awingnut
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 28. Aug 2015, 19:34

Re: Network Setup for Andriod-x86

Postby mpack » 10. Jan 2019, 19:02

awingnut wrote:So the question is how do I set VB's network so Android thinks it is connected to a wifi but uses the host NIC? TIA.

No VirtualBox VM will ever think it is connected to WiFi. If all goes well then it'll think it is connected to a network using a wired (Ethernet) connection. You'll need to select a network adapter type in the VM settings for which you have Android drivers.

I have created Android VMs in the past, though none seem to be on the PC I'm using now. The experience of Android-x86 inside a VM was never pleasant. Basically pointless since most apps didn't work. Yes I know, in theory Android apps are machine independant, in practice most do things to hardware and/or have ARM code in them for performance.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 29692
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Network Setup for Andriod-x86

Postby awingnut » 10. Jan 2019, 19:49

So are you saying I need to install some kind of android driver on my Linux box or VB? Any suggestions?
awingnut
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 28. Aug 2015, 19:34

Re: Network Setup for Andriod-x86

Postby mpack » 10. Jan 2019, 20:21

Yes, you need Android drivers for all hardware present inside the VM.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 29692
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Network Setup for Andriod-x86

Postby awingnut » 10. Jan 2019, 20:30

I would think that would be included on the iso. If not, what drivers and where would I get them?

After some observation, perhaps the network is not the problem after all. I see this symbol in the upper right "<...>" which I read somewhere means the network is connected. When I start the emulator it seems to be in some kind of endless loop. Here is the sequence of screens:

1 ) "Just a sec..."
2 ) screen goes dark
3 ) "Just a sec..."
4 ) screen goes dark
5 ) "Just a sec..."
6 ) "Connecting..."
7 ) "Checking for updates..."
8 ) black screen with "android" displayed
9 ) go to 1
awingnut
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 28. Aug 2015, 19:34

Re: Network Setup for Andriod-x86

Postby mpack » 11. Jan 2019, 10:26

Included on what ISO?

Android is not a supported guest OS, so I'm not able to tell you where you can get drivers.

Incidentally, I have an Android x86 VM on my home PC. It has a working Internet browser and it uses the "Intel PRO/1000 MT Desktop" adapter.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 29692
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Network Setup for Andriod-x86

Postby awingnut » 11. Jan 2019, 20:24

This is confusing. Everything I read indicates that android-x86 works as a guest on VB.
awingnut
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 28. Aug 2015, 19:34

Re: Network Setup for Andriod-x86

Postby andyp73 » 11. Jan 2019, 23:58

Android-x86 does work as a guest. Many of us have different versions working to a greater or lesser extent.

Unsupported means that the Oracle devs don't test it and probably won't look at any issues that come up.

-Andy.
My crystal ball is currently broken. If you want assistance you are going to have to give me all of the necessary information.
Please don't ask me to do your homework for you, I have more than enough of my own things to do.
andyp73
Volunteer
 
Posts: 1639
Joined: 25. May 2010, 23:48
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Assorted Linux, Windows Server 2012, DOS, Windows 10, BIOS/UEFI emulation

Re: Network Setup for Andriod-x86

Postby awingnut » 12. Jan 2019, 00:50

I wasn't expecting support from Oracle but rather help form someone on the forum that has this working.
awingnut
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 28. Aug 2015, 19:34

Re: Network Setup for Andriod-x86

Postby mpack » 12. Jan 2019, 10:42

There aren't that many Android users around here: x86 has never been a big platform for Android, x86 is a platform for desktop OS's. Basically nobody runs Android on PCs.

I think you'd probably have better luck at one of the Android specialist sites. Presumably you downloaded the Android x86 VM from one.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 29692
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Network Setup for Andriod-x86

Postby awingnut » 14. Jan 2019, 17:02

I'm looking for an android emulator that will run on Linux. Something like Blue Stacks. I don't have another machine I can dedicate (or use part time) to android x86.
awingnut
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 28. Aug 2015, 19:34

Next

Return to VirtualBox on Linux Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests