critical error after upgrade to 5.1.34

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Linux hosts.
Kobbema

critical error after upgrade to 5.1.34

Post by Kobbema »

Hello,

Apologies if this problem has already been reported, but this is my first time on any forum and I panicked when seeing the sheer amount of posts.

I have been using VirtualBox for 10+ years to run WindowsXP on both my Ubuntu desktop and my Windows10 laptop (as well as running Ubuntu there).

Yesterday Ubuntu installed a new version of VirtualBox and starting my WindowsXP VM gave me a "VirtualBox - Error" and a second panel saying "RTR3InitEx failed wirh rc=-1912 (rc=-1912)"
The panel further suggested to run "modprobe vboxdrv" which did not make any difference.

Ever since starting my WindowsXP VM starts Windows, but then throws up a panel of "VirtualBox - Guru Meditation" advising me that a critical error has occurred and suggesting I go to the community for help.
The mouse has then become inoperative, but pressing <enter> closes the panel and gets me back to the VirtualBox manager.

I exported the VM and imported it to my Windows10 laptop where the VM ran successfully.

I removed and reinstalled VirtualBox, but that made no difference.

The Guru Meditation advised me to include VBox.log and VBox.png, but i cannot because of an upload limit size.

I imported the Ubuntu VM from my laptop and that came with a VirtualBox - Error as well. The details were:
  • VT-x is not available (VERR_VMX_NO_VMX).
    Result Code: NS_ERROR_FAILURE (0x80004005)
    Component: ConsoleWrap
    Interface: IConsole {872da645-4a9b-1727-bee2-5585105b9eed}
Issuing command "VBoxManage modifyvm "Windows XP" --hwvirtex off" as per recommendation in https://www.virtualbox.org/ticket/17522 did not solve the problem.

Giving more memory to the VM as per recommendation of https://www.virtualbox.org/ticket/2761 did not solve the problem.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.
socratis
Site Moderator
Primary OS: Mac OS X other