[SOLVED] Path to the cloned new machine

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Linux hosts.

[SOLVED] Path to the cloned new machine

Postby makh » 6. Nov 2017, 14:56

Hi

I just cloned a machine. It got cloned in the group named "Linux M/c". But it was under the main path VM, not under the group folder "VM".

Please inform how to avoid this.

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
VM
|- Linux M/c
|  |- Mc1
|-Mc1 Cloned


The only way will be to delete the virtual machine without files, and then correct the path, and then make a new machine one, but in this way it makes two paths for the same machine. One having vdi, and the other having the snap save.

Thankyou
Last edited by makh on 8. Nov 2017, 07:40, edited 1 time in total.
Arch Linux
Debian Linux
HP Probook 440 G2
:idea:
makh
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 19. Mar 2012, 19:20
Primary OS: Other
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Debian, Devuan, Linux Mint, Windows

Re: Path to the cloned new machine

Postby mpack » 6. Nov 2017, 14:58

The path for new VMs is an option in your UI preferences.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25470
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Path to the cloned new machine

Postby makh » 6. Nov 2017, 16:59

Hi

Sir! theres only one option: Default machine folder. Thats where the cloned machine is created, not the folder of group.

Thankyou.
Arch Linux
Debian Linux
HP Probook 440 G2
:idea:
makh
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 19. Mar 2012, 19:20
Primary OS: Other
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Debian, Devuan, Linux Mint, Windows

Re: Path to the cloned new machine

Postby Perryg » 6. Nov 2017, 17:16

You need to use the command line option to do what you want. See https://www.virtualbox.org/manual/ch08. ... ge-clonevm for the syntax.
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 34266
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Re: Path to the cloned new machine

Postby makh » 7. Nov 2017, 06:38

Perryg wrote:....

Hi

It worked with:
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
VBoxManage clonevm vmkolibri --mode all --name vmkolibri2 --basefolder /path-to-vm/Linuxes/ --register
:)

Though the mentioning of the default group with using --groups gave me this error at the first try:
VBoxManage: error: Invalid machine group 'Linuxes'
VBoxManage: error: Details: code NS_ERROR_INVALID_ARG (0x80070057), component VirtualBoxWrap, interface IVirtualBox, callee nsISupports
VBoxManage: error: Context: "ComposeMachineFilename(Bstr(pszTrgName).raw(), bstrPrimaryGroup.raw(), createFlags.raw(), Bstr(pszTrgBaseFolder).raw(), bstrSettingsFile.asOutParam())" at line 464 of file VBoxManageMisc.cpp

I used with Linuxes, 'Linuxes', and "Linuxes", but didnt worked for me. :(

According to the manual:
By default, clones are always assigned membership of the group /.

It seems the problem I am actually having shouldnt have been there at all. :idea:

Thankyou
Arch Linux
Debian Linux
HP Probook 440 G2
:idea:
makh
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 19. Mar 2012, 19:20
Primary OS: Other
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Debian, Devuan, Linux Mint, Windows


Return to VirtualBox on Linux Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests