-1908 Error when trying to run Virtual Machine on Virtual Box

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Linux hosts.
Tcanuth

-1908 Error when trying to run Virtual Machine on Virtual Box

Post by Tcanuth »

I apologize in advance for the hand holding that will be required. I am very new to Kali and Linux in general.

I am trying to learn a bit about penetration testing and need to set up a lab environment with virtual box so that I can practice and am unable to get Virtual Box to start a virtual computer successfully.

After 2 days, and countless google searches and more terminal commands than I can recall, I am at my wit's end.

This is what I am working with...

I am runing Kali GNU/LinuxRolling 64 bit Gnome 3.26.1 on a flash drive with persistance

When i try to start my virtual machine, I get error boxes. This first reads as follows:
Kernel driver not installed (rc=-1908)

The VirtualBox Linux kernel driver (vboxdrv) is either not loaded or there is a permission problem with /dev/vboxdrv. Please reinstall virtualbox-dkms package and load the kernel module by executing 'modprobe vboxdrv' as root.

where: suplibOsInit what: 3 VERR_VM_DRIVER_NOT_INSTALLED (-1908) - The support driver is not installed. On linux, open returned ENOENT.
The 2nd box I get goes like this:
Failed to open a session for the virtual machine Victim.
Details: The virtual machine 'Victim' has terminated unexpectedly during startup with exit code 1 (0x1).

Result Code: NS_ERROR_FAILURE (0x80004005)
Component: MachineWrap
Interface: IMachine {b2547866-a0a1-4391-8b86-6952d82efaa0}
I have purged virtual box and the machines it has created multiple times and reinstalled it. I have also uninstalled the linux headers and made attempts to reinstall them, i have also upgraded and updated kali as far as I am able to. I have tried to download it and manually install it, and I have also tried using apt-get to install it as well.