Bridged Network Doesn't Work on Fedora Host

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Linux hosts.
Post Reply
GreyGnome
Posts: 4
Joined: 6. Dec 2015, 09:59

Bridged Network Doesn't Work on Fedora Host

Post by GreyGnome »

I have a Fedora 22 laptop with a VirtualBox VM on it. All worked fine when I attached the VM to my wireless network card, but I want to attach it to my hardwired card instead. But I cannot ping the VM from my host. Any suggestions?

Here is what I've done:

- Configured my hardwired nic. Set it to not be managed by Networkmanager. I have brought it up, and I can ping it from my host itself. ifconfig shows:

Code: Select all

enp0s25: flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500`
            inet 10.0.1.1  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 10.0.1.255`
            ether 3c:97:0e:38:c4:9d  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
- Configured my VM with an IP of 10.0.1.100
- Ensured that the VM network device is enabled and attached to "Bridged Adapter", and that it is indeed the hardwired nic.

I start

Code: Select all

tcpdump -i enp0s25 -n 
on my host. When I ping *out* from my VM- that is, i ping my host's interface using

Code: Select all

ping 10.0.1.1
, I get the following on my host:

Code: Select all

01:11:57.831609 ARP, Request who-has 10.0.1.1 tell 10.0.1.100, length 46
01:11:59.827699 ARP, Request who-has 10.0.1.1 tell 10.0.1.100, length 46
01:12:00.827591 ARP, Request who-has 10.0.1.1 tell 10.0.1.100, length 46
the VM says, "Destination host unreachable" (as you would expect when ARP does not reply).

BTW, I checked with Wireshark and I have verified that the incoming arp packet is not VLAN tagged. Just to be sure.

Thanks
GreyGnome
Posts: 4
Joined: 6. Dec 2015, 09:59

Re: Bridged Network Doesn't Work on Fedora Host

Post by GreyGnome »

Never mind. The network port was not connected, so Linux will not send out a packet. I have to use a host-only adapter.
Elizine
Posts: 34
Joined: 19. May 2015, 10:49

Re: Bridged Network Doesn't Work on Fedora Host

Post by Elizine »

Please refer to the following thread on Fedora -
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=289040
bodHOST
SpahZ
Posts: 31
Joined: 26. Nov 2015, 21:21

Re: Bridged Network Doesn't Work on Fedora Host

Post by SpahZ »

You could use the dummy driver, but i cant see where a connection less interface
is helpful unless you will be using NAT, or routing a subnet to your host.

a64:~# modprobe dummy
a64:~# ifconfig dummy
dummy0: flags=130<BROADCAST,NOARP> mtu 1500
ether fe:db:d5:ba:74:52 txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)

Course, if that's your aim, stuff like that is what the dummy driver is for.
Post Reply