[Solved] Unable to Install Extension Pack

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Linux hosts.
Taylor

[Solved] Unable to Install Extension Pack

Post by Taylor »

Just to forewarn, while I have plenty of technical experience and am a developer, my technical knowledge on Linux isn't the best (fair amount of experience in AIX, especially with ksh), and I'm new to the VB world.

I have an Asustor NAS (AS5108T) that is running some flavor of Linux (still have yet to figure out which, though) and have VB installed on it. I'm running Windows 7 x64. Asustor has provided the VB app for the NAS, but required the manual installation of the Extension Pack. I am able to get the Extension Pack that matches the version of VB (4.3.20), but I am unable to install. Whether I install through the VB app on the NAS or through SSH as root, I get the same error. I have done some extensive googling over the past 24 hours but haven't figured out how to get past this. I have provided the error output below:

Code: Select all

VBoxManage: error: Failed to install "/volume1/Public/Oracle_VM_VirtualBox_Extension_Pack-4.3.20-96996.vbox-extpack"
VBoxManage: error: The installer failed with exit code 1: /volume1/.@plugins/AppCentral/virtualbox/bin/VBoxExtPackHelperApp: /usr/lib/libcrypto.so.1.0.0: no version information available (required by /volume1/.@plugins/AppCentral/virtualbox/bin/VBoxRT.so)
VBoxManage: error: /volume1/.@plugins/AppCentral/virtualbox/bin/VBoxExtPackHelperApp: /usr/lib/libssl.so.1.0.0: no version information available (required by /volume1/.@plugins/AppCentral/virtualbox/bin/VBoxRT.so)
VBoxManage: error: VBoxExtPackHelperApp: error: Unable to locate 'pkexec', 'gksu' or 'su+xterm'. Try perform the operation using VBoxManage running as root
Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!
Perryg
Site Moderator
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Re: Unable to Install Extension Pack

Post by Perryg »