installing external USB soundcard on an XP guest system

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Linux hosts.
Tut_Ench

installing external USB soundcard on an XP guest system

Post by Tut_Ench »

Hello dear forum,

I am pretty new to Virtualbox and I am currently trying to use a connected USB soundcard on a XP guest system with an Ubuntu 14.04 (64 Bit) host.
My Virtualbox version is 4.3.10_Ubuntu and I already installed the "VirtualBox 4.3.14 Oracle VM VirtualBox Extension Pack", enabled USB 2.0 support for the guest system and additionally created an "empty" USB filter, hoping it would forward the soundcard to the guest somehow.
The soundcard (namely an integrated soundcard from a controller named "Hercules DJ Console RMX") is properly recognized by the host system and I can select and deselect it via the Ubuntu sound settings. Sound from the guest is played via the external soundcard properly, but I cannot select the soundcard directly from the guest system, which is what I want to.

I already downloaded the Windows driver for the soundcard and installed it on a separate partition running Windows on the same computer (but as a separate partition -- not as a VM), where everything works fine.

On the VM, however, I cannot even see the soundcard. I tried playing with the VM "Audio" settings and also unplugged and replugged in the device several times, but the guest XP does not recognize anything, unfortunately.

My actual goal is to install the driver for the soundcard to be able to use it as an ASIO soundcard, so I can use the console to control a DJ-Software named "Traktor", which I already managed to successfully install and run on the VM.
Hopefully this will not be too slow so I could finally say "goodbye" to the simultaneously installed WinXP on this machine, which I only have because of Traktor.