Page 1 of 2

How can I get 1920x1080 resolution for 23" Flat Panel,W7 VM?

PostPosted: 24. May 2012, 04:59
by jacjoe
Hello.
I have now an AOC 23" Flat Panel monitor with a resolution of 1920x1080 and a video card GEForce GTX 570. The Host works with 1920x1080.

I installed the monitor driver in my guest Windows 7 Virtual Machine. Windows 7 recognizes the AOC monitor, then I installed Guest Additions (4.1.14) but in Control Panel-Screen-Screen resolution, the maximum resolution available is 1278x1024, the resolution I need is not shown (1920x1080).

In same screen, under Advanced configuration, I have in Adapter: VirtualBox Graphics Adapter.
No matter if I use resize the guest windows or use the seamless mode, I am always limited to 1278x1024 in the control panel of the Win 7 guest VM, it do not show bigger resolutions.

Does someone knows how can I get the 1920x1080 resolution? With 1278x1024 it do not look good.

Best regards
joejac

Re: How can I get 1920x1080 resolution for 23" Flat Panel,W7

PostPosted: 24. May 2012, 11:47
by mpack
jacjoe wrote:I installed the monitor driver in my guest Windows 7 Virtual Machine. Windows 7 recognizes the AOC monitor

You installed a physical driver into a virtual machine? Why would you do that? Luckily for you the Win7 guest probably ignored you anyway - you can't load drivers for hardware that doesn't exist.

Have you tried dragging the VM window to the size you want?

Re: How can I get 1920x1080 resolution for 23" Flat Panel,W7

PostPosted: 30. May 2012, 21:59
by jacjoe
Hello,
Thanks mpack,

I did almost everything, I have Seamless mode and the VM fills the full 23" monitor screen, but it do not looks good since it is at 1278x1024 resolution not at full resolution. It looks like if it were in Scale Mode, the sizes of the elements in the screen looks stretched, not nice.

And the Linux host is at 1920x1080. And when I boot from the other disk, in Win 7, it looks very nice at full resolution 1920x1080. And the sizes of the elements in the screen looks natural, not stretched.

Please note I have a Dual boot, Win 7 in HD and Linux as a Host in an Intel SSD with the VMs inside the Linux host.

I would appreciate a lot any help to resolve this problem.
Thanks and regards
joejac

Re: How can I get 1920x1080 resolution for 23" Flat Panel,W7

PostPosted: 31. May 2012, 11:41
by mpack
If you have the guest additions installed as you say, then maximizing the window should make it go full screen (*), and the GAs should adjust automatically. Or you can drag the window to whatever size you prefer - and do it again if the size still isn't right. I have to admit that I don't really see what your problem is.

ps. if you really think you might have scale mode enabled, then <host>+C should toggle it. However to me it sounds like you don't really have the GAs installed properly. Did you follow the Linux GA installation instructions given in the manual?

[*Edit] In hindsight, maximizing is not the same as switching to fullscreen. Don't know what I was thinking there. You won't get fullscreen, but you should get the largest possible window the host allows.

Re: How can I get 1920x1080 resolution for 23" Flat Panel,W7

PostPosted: 18. Feb 2013, 19:39
by MSquare
After installing GA, enabling 3D acceleration unlocked all the resolutions for me.

3D acceleration can be enabled for a guest machine in the Settings->Display options.

Cheers,

Re: How can I get 1920x1080 resolution for 23" Flat Panel,W7

PostPosted: 18. Feb 2013, 19:50
by mpack
3D acceleration has nothing to do with display size, AFAIK. Also, enabling 3D after installing the GAs would not AFAIK do anything either.

Re: How can I get 1920x1080 resolution for 23" Flat Panel,W7

PostPosted: 29. Jun 2013, 19:27
by Gabriele_1981
I indeed have the same issue.

I have installed Virtualbox in Ubuntu 12.04, and I created a virtual guest with Windows 7 64bit. Guest additions were also installed. It works fine, but I can't set the resolution to anything higher than 1600 x 1200, whereas my screen is 1920x1080.

Here's my system specifications: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3632QM CPU @ 2.20GHz AMD Radeon 7650 VGA 8 Gb RAM DDR3

Moreover, if I try to enhable 3D acceleration in the settings of my guest, when I expand to full screen it aborts...

Re: How can I get 1920x1080 resolution for 23" Flat Panel,W7

PostPosted: 29. Jun 2013, 20:01
by Perryg
You need to use the full screen toggle (host+F) to go into full screen. Anything else will not give the full resolution.

Re: How can I get 1920x1080 resolution for 23" Flat Panel,W7

PostPosted: 21. Apr 2014, 02:23
by Yaganox
In the main application window go to 'File' -> 'Preferences' -> 'Display' -> change 'Max guest ...' to 'Hint' -> change the width and height to whatever resolution you have for your desktop or anything else you want.

Re: How can I get 1920x1080 resolution for 23" Flat Panel,W7

PostPosted: 21. Apr 2014, 03:52
by loukingjr
Hint no longer works, at least on a Mac host. And that doesn't give you full screen. That was to adjust the Window size.

Re: How can I get 1920x1080 resolution for 23" Flat Panel,W7

PostPosted: 21. Apr 2014, 04:28
by Yaganox
Works for me,
I don't care for Apple products,
the OP was asking about resolution in general -- related to my answer.

Re: How can I get 1920x1080 resolution for 23" Flat Panel,W7

PostPosted: 21. Apr 2014, 04:38
by loukingjr
you mean the OP from two years ago? :D

Re: How can I get 1920x1080 resolution for 23" Flat Panel,W7

PostPosted: 21. Apr 2014, 04:41
by Yaganox
The decent thing to do is to post a solution when none was found as long as it's still current.

Re: How can I get 1920x1080 resolution for 23" Flat Panel,W7

PostPosted: 21. Apr 2014, 04:44
by loukingjr
well, for one thing it could be argued two years ago is not current. and as I said, Hint is to set the Windowed size. I'm not sure what version of VirtualBox you are running but Hint hasn't worked for awhile.

Re: How can I get 1920x1080 resolution for 23" Flat Panel,W7

PostPosted: 21. Apr 2014, 05:09
by Yaganox
'Current' is when the problem is still being faced by users, and I did face it on the latest version. 'Hint' also fixed full screen for me. This is my last post in this thread; I did my part, which is registering specifically to post this solution. :roll: