Page 3 of 4

Re: CloneVDI tool: Linux part

PostPosted: 7. Sep 2012, 16:31
by mpack
I had a chance to look at the code this morning: bug confirmed.

The bug was exactly what I thought it was, i.e. the CloneVDI compaction feature has a function which checks unpartitioned areas of the disk (useful if the user has deleted or shrunk a partition), and that function had an implicit and incorrect assumption that slot 1 in the MBR would always be used to define the first partition. The bug only arises if compaction is enabled, and that assumption is wrong, and the actual first partition begins 1MB or more into the disk.

I'll do a bugfix release soon.

Re: CloneVDI tool: Linux part

PostPosted: 30. Dec 2012, 16:33
by stephdl
nice tread

Re: CloneVDI tool: Linux part

PostPosted: 20. Nov 2013, 16:44
by none
Starting CloneVDI under wine from console, I always get this annoying message:

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
fixme:console:AttachConsole stub ffffffff

In fact, one could hide it with:

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
WINEDEBUG=-all wine CloneVDI.exe (args)

(hint from Wine FAQ)

Re: CloneVDI tool: Linux part

PostPosted: 26. Jun 2014, 08:06
by rdevan
It works like charm !! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Re: CloneVDI tool: Linux part

PostPosted: 9. May 2015, 15:42
by spereira
I too have the same issue.. how d do I

Re: CloneVDI tool: Linux part

PostPosted: 10. May 2015, 14:06
by mpack
:?: This topic is not about an issue, so what does "same issue" mean?

CloneVDI tool: Linux part

PostPosted: 17. Jun 2015, 08:23
by freesbee
...maybe I'm missing something: I have linux (debian) headless servers as hosts, and I would like to understand if I have any chance to use clonevdi from the shell (without wine, since my hosts have no GUI, no X11).
Do I have any chance?

Re: CloneVDI tool: Linux part

PostPosted: 17. Jun 2015, 08:38
by mpack
CloneVDI is a Windows executable. It can't be used on Linux hosts without Wine.

CloneVDI tool: Linux part

PostPosted: 18. Jun 2015, 08:05
by freesbee
Ok, pity.
Thanks anyway
(such a nice development in such an awkward direction)

Re: CloneVDI tool: Linux part

PostPosted: 18. Jun 2015, 08:22
by mpack
You have something against Wine?

Re: CloneVDI tool: Linux part

PostPosted: 31. Jul 2015, 21:34
by bantolo
thanks every body, your post very helpful..

Re: CloneVDI tool: Linux part

PostPosted: 16. Sep 2015, 08:03
by adelnet10
thanks

Re: CloneVDI tool: Linux part

PostPosted: 31. Oct 2015, 10:33
by 00Luke
Hello everyone, I've got a headless ubuntu server that I'm keen to run CloneVDI on - I've installed wine, but obviously I can only use the command line.

I know CloneVDI can run via the command line, but I can't work out how to string this together with calling it under wine to make it work - Can anyone advise / point me in the right direction? I've tried looking on the Wine manual pages, but still not sure. Is it something to do with wine cmd?

Thanks for any help in advance!

Re: CloneVDI tool: Linux part

PostPosted: 31. Oct 2015, 12:33
by mpack
CloneVDI works in a Windows console, not any old command line. I have no idea if Wine supports that feature. But yes, in Windows the command executable shell is cmd.exe.

Re: CloneVDI tool: Linux part

PostPosted: 31. Oct 2015, 14:47
by 00Luke
"wine cmd" is command-line access into Wine, similar to Windows' "cmd" .

Once invoked in a terminal/console (by using 'wine cmd' ), the current directory is displayed using DOS format. The system root is displayed as "Z:" and normal Unix forward slashes ( / ) are replaced by DOS backslashes ( \ ) .

That's from the manual pages of wine - I've done that and then tried running CloneVDI using command line commands as per the release text but can't get it to work. I'm probably trying to put a square peg in a round hole! Has anyone who's used CloneVDI on Linux managed to get it running from command line?