CloneVDI tool: Linux part

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Linux hosts.

Re: CloneVDI tool: Linux part

Postby mpack » 7. Sep 2012, 16:31

I had a chance to look at the code this morning: bug confirmed.

The bug was exactly what I thought it was, i.e. the CloneVDI compaction feature has a function which checks unpartitioned areas of the disk (useful if the user has deleted or shrunk a partition), and that function had an implicit and incorrect assumption that slot 1 in the MBR would always be used to define the first partition. The bug only arises if compaction is enabled, and that assumption is wrong, and the actual first partition begins 1MB or more into the disk.

I'll do a bugfix release soon.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25490
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: CloneVDI tool: Linux part

Postby stephdl » 30. Dec 2012, 16:33

nice tread
stephdl
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 30. Dec 2012, 16:14

Re: CloneVDI tool: Linux part

Postby none » 20. Nov 2013, 16:44

Starting CloneVDI under wine from console, I always get this annoying message:

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
fixme:console:AttachConsole stub ffffffff

In fact, one could hide it with:

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
WINEDEBUG=-all wine CloneVDI.exe (args)

(hint from Wine FAQ)
none
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 20. Nov 2013, 02:37
Primary OS: Debian Wheezy
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: XP, 2003, 7, 2008r2, Debian, Ubuntu, SuSE

Re: CloneVDI tool: Linux part

Postby rdevan » 26. Jun 2014, 08:06

It works like charm !! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
rdevan
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 26. Jun 2014, 08:05

Re: CloneVDI tool: Linux part

Postby spereira » 9. May 2015, 15:42

I too have the same issue.. how d do I
spereira
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 4. May 2015, 02:57

Re: CloneVDI tool: Linux part

Postby mpack » 10. May 2015, 14:06

:?: This topic is not about an issue, so what does "same issue" mean?
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25490
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

CloneVDI tool: Linux part

Postby freesbee » 17. Jun 2015, 08:23

...maybe I'm missing something: I have linux (debian) headless servers as hosts, and I would like to understand if I have any chance to use clonevdi from the shell (without wine, since my hosts have no GUI, no X11).
Do I have any chance?
freesbee
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 17. Jun 2015, 08:18

Re: CloneVDI tool: Linux part

Postby mpack » 17. Jun 2015, 08:38

CloneVDI is a Windows executable. It can't be used on Linux hosts without Wine.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25490
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

CloneVDI tool: Linux part

Postby freesbee » 18. Jun 2015, 08:05

Ok, pity.
Thanks anyway
(such a nice development in such an awkward direction)
freesbee
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 17. Jun 2015, 08:18

Re: CloneVDI tool: Linux part

Postby mpack » 18. Jun 2015, 08:22

You have something against Wine?
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25490
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: CloneVDI tool: Linux part

Postby bantolo » 31. Jul 2015, 21:34

thanks every body, your post very helpful..
bantolo
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 31. Jul 2015, 21:26
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Linux

Re: CloneVDI tool: Linux part

Postby adelnet10 » 16. Sep 2015, 08:03

thanks
adelnet10
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 16. Sep 2015, 07:54

Re: CloneVDI tool: Linux part

Postby 00Luke » 31. Oct 2015, 10:33

Hello everyone, I've got a headless ubuntu server that I'm keen to run CloneVDI on - I've installed wine, but obviously I can only use the command line.

I know CloneVDI can run via the command line, but I can't work out how to string this together with calling it under wine to make it work - Can anyone advise / point me in the right direction? I've tried looking on the Wine manual pages, but still not sure. Is it something to do with wine cmd?

Thanks for any help in advance!
00Luke
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 24. Oct 2015, 05:32

Re: CloneVDI tool: Linux part

Postby mpack » 31. Oct 2015, 12:33

CloneVDI works in a Windows console, not any old command line. I have no idea if Wine supports that feature. But yes, in Windows the command executable shell is cmd.exe.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25490
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: CloneVDI tool: Linux part

Postby 00Luke » 31. Oct 2015, 14:47

"wine cmd" is command-line access into Wine, similar to Windows' "cmd" .

Once invoked in a terminal/console (by using 'wine cmd' ), the current directory is displayed using DOS format. The system root is displayed as "Z:" and normal Unix forward slashes ( / ) are replaced by DOS backslashes ( \ ) .

That's from the manual pages of wine - I've done that and then tried running CloneVDI using command line commands as per the release text but can't get it to work. I'm probably trying to put a square peg in a round hole! Has anyone who's used CloneVDI on Linux managed to get it running from command line?
00Luke
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 24. Oct 2015, 05:32

PreviousNext

Return to VirtualBox on Linux Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests