How can I automatically start my virtual machines?

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.
Post Reply
rojao
Posts: 1
Joined: 16. Jun 2009, 18:27
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows

How can I automatically start my virtual machines?

Post by rojao »

Hello.

I am an IT consultant and I have started using VirtualBox for some months now, with very acceptable results.

I need to automatically start my virtual machines on a WIndows host. How can I accomplish this? I searched the options, etc, but I can´t find anything..

Thanks in advance,

Ivo Pereira
IT Consultant
Portugal
jasv
Posts: 2
Joined: 13. May 2009, 22:06
Primary OS: MS Windows 2003
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: XP

Re: How can I automatically start my virtual machines?

Post by jasv »

You can put something like the following in a command file that put on your startup folder

c:\"program files"\sun\"xVM VirtualBox"\vBoxHeadless -startvm "myVirutalMachine"

Of course this will create a headless virtual machine which means you will need to access it using Remote Desktop. The help files explain this better than I can.
chasky
Posts: 1
Joined: 24. Jun 2009, 10:05
Primary OS: MS Windows Vista
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: ubuntu 8.04

Re: How can I automatically start my virtual machines?

Post by chasky »

or try with this sentence in the command line:

C:\Program Files\Sun\xVM VirtualBox>VBoxManage startvm "vmName"

Please note: "vmName" parameter is case sensitive.

Save the sentence in a batch file (*.bat or *.cmd), then create a new Scheduled Task to run when windows start.

---------------
hugo meza m
Compumagic solutions Perú
boksiora
Posts: 1
Joined: 30. Nov 2010, 11:06
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: XP
Contact:

Re: How can I automatically start my virtual machines?

Post by boksiora »

Here is my .bat file

Code: Select all

cd "C:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox\"
VBoxManage.exe startvm "vm1"
VBoxManage.exe startvm "vm2"
VBoxManage.exe startvm "vm3"
VBoxManage.exe startvm "vm4"
Post Reply