add host-only network

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Linux hosts.

add host-only network

Postby sr_green » 4. May 2009, 12:14

Hi!
Virtualbox 2.2.2 Centos 5.2/5.3 host
Button add host-only network are disable.
How add host-network adapter vboxnet1,2,3
sr_green
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 4. May 2009, 12:09
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: xp

Re: add host-only network

Postby hawaiian717 » 7. May 2009, 19:25

I am also interested in doing this and haven't been able to do this either. The button to add a host only network is greyed out with VirtualBox 2.2.2 PUEL on both CentOS 5.3 and Mac OS X 10.5.6 hosts, and I didn't see any way to do it using VBoxManage (which is ultimately my preferred option so that I can script it). Anyone know when this capability will be working?
hawaiian717
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 7. May 2009, 19:21
Primary OS: Mac OS X Leopard
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Fedora

Re: add host-only network

Postby vbtroy » 8. May 2009, 18:53

I have the same problem with VB 2.2.2. PUEL. Can't add a host-only network. The existing one works great but I want to add another, yet the button is disabled.
vbtroy
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 8. May 2009, 18:50
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Linux

Re: add host-only network

Postby Perryg » 8. May 2009, 19:04

Chapter 6.7 of the VBox Users Guide.
All in there waiting for someone to read it.
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25964
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX - Other

Re: add host-only network

Postby vbtroy » 8. May 2009, 19:31

Perryg wrote:Chapter 6.7 of the VBox Users Guide.
All in there waiting for someone to read it.


No, there's nothing in 6.7 about this problem. I just re-read it.

We're not having problems adding a VM to a host-only network. What we are all reporting is that we cannot create a second (or third, etc) host-only network such as vboxnet1, vboxnet2. The GUI for this is in File -> Preferences -> Network. There is a disabled, grayed-out button that is supposed to let us add new networks besides the default vboxnet0. We want to know why this box is grayed out and how we can enable it.
vbtroy
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 8. May 2009, 18:50
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Linux

Re: add host-only network

Postby Perryg » 8. May 2009, 19:37

Mine works but I have not checked it on my Linux yet. Give me a few.

EDIT:
Ok it works in Windows but not in Linux.
In Windows it creates a loopback and assignes it in the .virtualbox.xml.

In Linux it does not. I will need to check as to why this is. You may of course file a bug report about this, as it definitively does not work in Linux.
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25964
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX - Other

Re: add host-only network

Postby hawaiian717 » 14. May 2009, 02:31

I did a quick search and didn't see anything, so I filed a bug on this:

http://www.virtualbox.org/ticket/4014
hawaiian717
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 7. May 2009, 19:21
Primary OS: Mac OS X Leopard
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Fedora

Re: add host-only network

Postby skyman » 4. Jul 2009, 19:52

Hi All,

As my first message, Sun and VB team, thanks, this is great peace of world. With it im trying to migrate from MS products. Now i'm in troubles -
i cant get my virtalmachine by host-only network, and do some important work.

My host is Ubuntu 9.04, guest is XP. I cant add virtual host network interface with error:
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
Failed to execute 'VBoxNetAdpCtl add' (exit status: 768)..
error code: NS_ERROR_FAILURE (0x80004005)


P.S. I need a sol as soon is .... thanks!
skyman
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 4. Jul 2009, 19:12
Primary OS: Ubuntu other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: XP SP3

Re: add host-only network

Postby hawaiian717 » 4. Jul 2009, 20:11

skyman, see the bug linked in my previous post in this thread. I had this problem on a CentOS host and it was because not all of the VirtualBox kernel modules (specifically vboxnetadp) were loaded.
hawaiian717
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 7. May 2009, 19:21
Primary OS: Mac OS X Leopard
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Fedora

Re: add host-only network

Postby skyman » 4. Jul 2009, 20:43

Thanks for an answer,

please give another bit of attention - where i can take it/how to install it - sorry i'm novice in linux.
skyman
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 4. Jul 2009, 19:12
Primary OS: Ubuntu other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: XP SP3

Re: add host-only network

Postby hawaiian717 » 4. Jul 2009, 20:48

Someone else is going to have to help with that, I'm not familiar with how the Ubuntu packages work.
hawaiian717
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 7. May 2009, 19:21
Primary OS: Mac OS X Leopard
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Fedora

Re: add host-only network

Postby skyman » 4. Jul 2009, 21:03

This module may present already on my system after VB install and i need to enable it, or i need to download it somewhere? Where you take it? (I didn't find it in download section) Thanks!
skyman
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 4. Jul 2009, 19:12
Primary OS: Ubuntu other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: XP SP3

Re: add host-only network

Postby skyman » 4. Jul 2009, 21:25

I found some information about it:

http://linux.dell.com/projects.shtml#dkms

I add Dynamic Kernel Module Support from http://linux.dell.com/dkms/

so as i understood my host a ready to accept VB kernel modules. So, where i can find it out....... :wink:
skyman
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 4. Jul 2009, 19:12
Primary OS: Ubuntu other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: XP SP3

Re: add host-only network

Postby skyman » 4. Jul 2009, 21:32

Yeeahaaa!!!!!

The sollution: Just reinstaled VB, and all run as expected!
skyman
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 4. Jul 2009, 19:12
Primary OS: Ubuntu other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: XP SP3


Return to VirtualBox on Linux Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests