Page 1 of 1

Error in SUPR3HardenedMa....

PostPosted: 6. Nov 2008, 14:14
by chrisfoerster
Hello after many problems installing on openSuse 11.0 Kernel 2.6.25.18-0.2-default, I finally got Vbox to run. but it runs only as user root. When i try to run it as "normal" user i get the error Error in SUPR3HardenedMa.... (sorry the window truncates the rest of the error).
Can somebody help out?

PostPosted: 8. Nov 2008, 21:15
by Sasquatch
Please try it with a different user other than Root. Create a new user and add it to the VBoxUsers group. Now see if you can run VB and create and run a VM. Just a simple livecd enviroment is enough. If that user does not give an error, it's in your user profile where the error is. You can then choose to either use that user and change settings you used to have piece by piece, while still checking for VB functionality, or look at your own profile and see what might be the issue. Some users had problems when they set Qt to look like GTK.

PostPosted: 10. Nov 2008, 10:57
by chrisfoerster
Hi,
I tried with a new user other than root but got the same error message. To complete the message Here is the content of the window:

Effective UID is not root (euid=1000 egid=100 uid=1000 gid=100) (rc=-10)

It may help to reinstall VirtualBox.


Before posting i allready tried reinstalling vbox, just in case...

PostPosted: 11. Nov 2008, 23:10
by Sasquatch
It seems that the installer did not make the VB executable SUID root. You need to be root to be able to perform ring 0 tasks. Check what permissions are set on /usr/lib/virtualbox/VirtualBox.

PostPosted: 12. Nov 2008, 12:11
by chrisfoerster
Here are the set permissions:

-rwxr-xr-x 1 root vboxusers 17964 Oct 29 04:56 VirtualBox


I am part of the group vboxusers. So normally i should be able to execute VirtualBox!?

PostPosted: 12. Nov 2008, 22:38
by Sasquatch
The permissions might look alright to you, but in fact, it should be like this:
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
-rws--x--x 1 root root 19K 2008-10-23 21:12 /usr/lib/virtualbox/VirtualBox

Note the -rws. To change it like this, use chmod 4711 Virtualbox to set the properties to normal SUID root.

PostPosted: 13. Nov 2008, 13:40
by chrisfoerster
Well now the permissions are correct (I suppose that all the files should have the same?). But Virtualbox still refuses to run as user. Luckily it runs as root.

I am still getting th same error:
xxxx@Xxxx-Mobile:~> VirtualBox
VirtualBox: Error -10 in SUPR3HardenedMain!
VirtualBox: Effective UID is not root (euid=1000 egid=100 uid=1000 gid=100)

VirtualBox: Tip! It may help to reinstall VirtualBox.
xxxx@Xxxx-Mobile:~>

PostPosted: 14. Nov 2008, 00:45
by Sasquatch
Well, do what the "Tip!" says. That's the best you can do now.

Re:

PostPosted: 21. May 2011, 22:19
by sijmen
Sasquatch wrote:The permissions might look alright to you, but in fact, it should be like this:
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
-rws--x--x 1 root root 19K 2008-10-23 21:12 /usr/lib/virtualbox/VirtualBox

Note the -rws. To change it like this, use chmod 4711 Virtualbox to set the properties to normal SUID root.


Tnx! That fixed it for me! :D

Re: Error in SUPR3HardenedMa....

PostPosted: 15. Nov 2012, 20:53
by jglick
I got the same error. I had just uninstalled the standard Ubuntu package (since it was too old) and installed the package from the virtualbox . org repository. Right after this VirtualBox worked fine, but thereafter I got this error when trying to start it. I tried to fix using:

sudo usermod -a -G vboxusers [myusername]
sudo chmod -v g+rx /dev/vbox{drv,netctl}
sudo chgrp -v vboxusers /dev/vbox{drv,netctl}

but still no luck. Then I tried

$ sudo chmod -v a+r /usr/lib/virtualbox/VirtualBox
mode of `/usr/lib/virtualbox/VirtualBox' changed from 4511 (r-s--x--x) to 4555 (r-sr-xr-x)

but that did not work either. Same with /usr/bin/VBox.

sudo VirtualBox works, but I do not want to have to run the whole process as root.

Sort of solved by using apt-get purge, not just apt-get remove, to blow away all files from the Ubuntu version of the package, then reinstalling the virtualbox . org version. I guess something was getting confused by there being two copies of some init script or the like (not sure exactly what).

But not really solved because now I see that the error is always printed on console when VirtualBox starts, though it winds up working anyway. But the segmentation fault occurs reproducibly whenever I try to create a Windows 2012 VM. VirtualBox ticket #11206 has details.