Tor browser and firefox now highly unstable in Virtualbox VMs

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Linux hosts.
Nicknack22

Tor browser and firefox now highly unstable in Virtualbox VMs

Post by Nicknack22 »

Hi everyone,

My host is a fully updated Manjaro Linux (64 bit) running on a fast Dell laptop. It is fully updated.

I have been using virtualbox without incident for over two years. Recently when I run Tor browser or Firefox in a long-established Windows VM, they crash within minutes.

Often now I get "Gah, your tab has crashed" type messages.

Today I reinstalled Virtualbox and the additions pack and also installed a Manjaro Linux VM. In there is Tor browser. More often than receiving the 'tab crshed' error, the whole Tor (or firefox) browser simply disappears just a coule of minutes after being launched. It seems to be a problem irrespective of which VM I am using...

I relaunch it and carry on for couple of minutes, then it happens again.

The fact that this started to happen with a VDI file that I configured a couple of years ago (Windows 7), I am thinking that maybe some recent updte to Virtualbox has introduced an instability of incompatibility.

I have spent several hours searching forums etc. I can;t even find any error logs inside the VM or in the Host for Virtualbox itself.

Does anyone have any pointers what I can do now?

It is sooo frustrating becase Virtualbox has been so reliable...

Thanks
scottgus1
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: Tor browser and firefox now highly unstable in Virtualbox VMs

Post by scottgus1 »

Start the VM from full normal shutdown, not save-state. Run until you see the problem happen, then shut down the VM from within the VM's OS if possible. If not possible, close the Virtualbox window for the VM with the Power Off option set.