problem starting vm in text mode

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Linux hosts.
Post Reply
Lucas Peregrino
Posts: 3
Joined: 2. Aug 2016, 15:18

problem starting vm in text mode

Post by Lucas Peregrino »

Good afternoon, I've been working with virtualbox for some time and I have nothing to complain about the functioning of the virtual machines with everything I'm facing a problem with booting or shutting down in text mode working with debian since the change started in debian 8 with systemctl from debian 9 , 10 and 11 now when calling the system to initialize it gives an error and a lot of the time I have the command wheel manually.
I'll make a post here on the command line I'm using and if it's like I'd like some help to fix the problem.

vbox.service
[Unit]
Description=VBOX
After=network.target

[Service]
Type=forking
ExecStart=/etc/vbox/vbox.sh start
ExecStop=/etc/vbox/vbox.sh stop

[Install]
WantedBy=multi-user.target

vbox.sh

#!/bin/bash

### BEGIN INIT INFO
# Provides: on.sh
# Required-Start: $network
# Required-Stop: $network
# Default-Start: 2 3 4 5
# Default-Stop: 0 1 6
### END INIT INFO


PATH=/bin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/usr/sbin

. /lib/lsb/init-functions

case "$1" in
start)
VBoxManage startvm --type headless WS && VBoxManage startvm --type headless W10
;;
stop)
VBoxManage controlvm WS savestate && VBoxManage controlvm W10 savestate
;;
*)
echo "Usage: /etc/vbox/vbox.sh {start | stop}"
exit 1
;;
exit

exit 0
Lucas Peregrino
Posts: 3
Joined: 2. Aug 2016, 15:18

Re: problem starting vm in text mode

Post by Lucas Peregrino »

Good morning I'm having a problem booting in text mode VM and there is no one can help
mpack
Site Moderator
Posts: 39134
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: problem starting vm in text mode

Post by mpack »

I boot DOS VMs all the time, which are the very definition of text-mode-only VMs, and I have no such problem. You would need to provide a VM log if you want someone to comment with any depth. We'd also need to see accurate error messages.
Post Reply