Page 1 of 1

Virtio-scsi shows HDD instead of SSD Virtualbox 6.1.97 r146677

PostPosted: 21. Sep 2021, 11:09
by FranceBB
Hi there,
in Virtualbox 6.1.97 r146677 I've set Virtio-scsi as disk and flagged it as Solid State Drive inside Virtualbox, however Windows 10 x64 Enterprise sees it as HDD...
(Yes the latest virtio drivers are installed in Windows 10)

Re: Virtio-scsi shows HDD instead of SSD Virtualbox 6.1.97 r146677

PostPosted: 22. Sep 2021, 20:06
by FranceBB
I opened a ticket in the bugtracker here: https://www.virtualbox.org/ticket/20573

Issue:

in Virtualbox 6.1.97 r146677 I've set Virtio-scsi as disk and flagged it as Solid State Drive inside Virtualbox, however Windows 10 x64 Enterprise sees it as HDD... (Yes the latest virtio drivers are installed in Windows 10)

Operative System:

Host - Fedora Workstation 34 x64
Guest - Windows 10 x64 Enterprise

Virtio Drivers version:
2021-09-13 05:07
https://fedorapeople.org/groups/virt/vi ... 0.1.208-1/

How to reproduce:

- create a virtual machine and install Windows 10 x64 using IDE or Sata.
- Install the Virtualbox guest additions. Insert an empty Virtio-scsi disk and install the virtio drivers.
- Shut down the Virtual Machine.
- Change the IDE or Sata disk to Virtio-scsi and flag "Solid State Drive" in the Virtualbox UI.
- Boot the Windows 10 x64 VM. Open the Task Manager Windows and it will show HDD.

Re: Virtio-scsi shows HDD instead of SSD Virtualbox 6.1.97 r146677

PostPosted: 30. Sep 2021, 16:06
by FranceBB
Upgraded to Virtualbox 6.1.97 r147001, the problem still occurs.

Re: Virtio-scsi shows HDD instead of SSD Virtualbox 6.1.97 r146677

PostPosted: 30. Sep 2021, 16:29
by scottgus1
Thanks for letting us know about this problem!

The Bugtracker ticket will be the way to communicate with the devs, and it will probably be best to wait until they comment on the ticket, rather than posting about each test build. Also, some patience will be needed, as the devs are busy fixing earlier bugs.

We here on the forum are fellow users of Virtualbox, not the devs, and we couldn't make any changes to make this work.

Re: Virtio-scsi shows HDD instead of SSD Virtualbox 6.1.97 r146677

PostPosted: 3. Oct 2021, 02:23
by FranceBB
scottgus1 wrote:We here on the forum are fellow users of Virtualbox, not the devs, and we couldn't make any changes to make this work.


Ah you're users, I didn't know that, I thought you were paid Oracle staff :P

Right, I'll stick to the ticket then.
About devs being busy, of course they're, with the whole Windows 11 TPM thing and other stuff, I'm looking at the latest commits and it seems like they're very much busy into making some sort of TPM passthrough work.
Anyway, thank you for what you're doing for the community. :)