Fail to export appliance

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.
bgoodman4

Fail to export appliance

Post by bgoodman4 »

I just recreated an XP VM because I was having a problem with the original failing to boot (my 1st XP VM creation) and I gave up on trying to resolve the problem. The new XP VM runs fine but when I try to export the appliance I get a "Failed to export appliance" error message. I have searched the net for a solution but the discussions I have looked at either are not relevant (ie: regarding Apple host) or beyond my level of understanding.

I am running a guest XP machine on a win 10 host. I am very new to virtualization and only moderately computer literate so I am hoping that someone can give me clear and understandable suggestions as to how to resolve the issue. I need to be able to run XP so I can use lotus 123. I have a complex spread sheet that I use for work and am now beginning to regret getting a new PC with 10 rather than sticking with my old win 7 machine.

Thanks in advance for any assistance you may offer.
scottgus1
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: Fail to export appliance

Post by scottgus1 »

Please try the export again, and if it fails, post the exact error message (use the Copy button if there is one). Also zip and post the Vboxsvc.log found in "C:\Users\{you}\.Virtualbox", using the forum's Upload Attachment tab.

In addition, why are you trying to export it?
bgoodman4

Post by bgoodman4 »