Virtualbox 6 first click opens blank and close auto.. but 2nd time opens in good condition...

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.

Virtualbox 6 first click opens blank and close auto.. but 2nd time opens in good condition...

Postby Panki » 29. Aug 2019, 08:51

Hi.. From Virtualbox 6.0 version onwards i face liitle issue that when i on desktop and click on virtualbox icon its open but virtualbox showing blank and after automatically closed in 5 seconds. But when i again click on same icon to open then i succeeded without any issue. Kindly advise how can i open virtualbox in good condition in 1st attempt.. i do not know this is a bug or what .. any fix .. please reply... Here attached screenshot for 1st attempt open issue....
Attachments
Capture3.PNG
Capture3.PNG (83.69 KiB) Viewed 145 times
Panki
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 23. Aug 2019, 09:46

Re: Virtualbox 6 first click opens blank and close auto.. but 2nd time opens in good condition...

Postby socratis » 29. Aug 2019, 10:03

Please ZIP and post the file "C:\Users\<you>\.VirtualBox\VBoxSVC.log" from a failed attempt to start VirtualBox. Please not the period in the ".VirtualBox" part of the path.

You can also try to re-install VirtualBox, by following the steps below:

  1. Uninstall VirtualBox. Your VMs are going to be untouched. Reboot.

  2. You may want to clean up your registry and/or filesystem at this point. CCleaner is a freeware utility that could help you. Mind the installation, it comes with "offers" from 3rd parties, known as "bundleware". Also, check out Device Cleanup program that helps you to remove any unused devices from your computer, mainly multiple "Host-Only Adapter #n".

  3. Download (if you haven't already) the latest VirtualBox and its matching ExtPack. Store them in a common location, i.e. not on "Desktop", or "Documents", but to "Public/Downloads" for example.

  4. Uninstall (don't simply disable) all 3rd party antivirus. If you're afraid about your computer being vulnerable, pull the Ethernet plug, disconnect your WiFi, don't go browsing around.

  5. Locate the downloaded file in Windows Explorer. Right-click on the installer and select "Run-as-Administrator", even if you are the administrator. At the end of the installation, choose to "Start Oracle VM VirtualBox". Do not worry if your VMs do not show up.

    • If you're going to install the ExtPack, go to File » Preferences » Extensions. Click on the icon with the orange, down-pointing arrow on the right. Select the ExtPack from the previous steps.
  6. Quit VirtualBox. Re-start VirtualBox as you would normally, i.e. from the Desktop shortcut or the Start menu.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 26128
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: Virtualbox 6 first click opens blank and close auto.. but 2nd time opens in good condition...

Postby Panki » 30. Aug 2019, 19:17

hi still issue not solved.. i here attached vboxsvc log file. kindly read and guide me.. thanks @socratis.. you know i hv never face this type of issue in virtualbox 5 version but in virtualbox 6 i can only opened in 2nd click.. first click always open blank and close...
Attachments
VBoxSVC.log
(2.72 KiB) Downloaded 9 times
Panki
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 23. Aug 2019, 09:46

Re: Virtualbox 6 first click opens blank and close auto.. but 2nd time opens in good condition...

Postby socratis » 1. Sep 2019, 12:00

00:00:00.002613 main VirtualBox COM Server 6.0.6 r130049 win.amd64 (Apr 16 2019 10:52:04) release log
That's an older VirtualBox. Try with the latest, 6.0.10 as of this writing...

00:00:00.724208      Loading settings file "E:\VirtualBox VMs\Win7_32bit\Win7_32bit.vbox" with version "1.15-windows"
What's "E:\"? Internal/external? If external, what kind? USB/NAS? If USB, what version/speed?

Plus, now that I took a 2nd look at your picture, something isn't right. Did you manipulate the picture at all? I don't see any VMs on the left-hand-side, and the "Snapshots" detail looks detached from the main window.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 26128
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5


Return to VirtualBox on Windows Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 30 guests