VirtualBox doesn't create screenshots

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.

VirtualBox doesn't create screenshots

Postby RubenAndreTei » 2. Aug 2019, 17:55

Hello,

I have a problem with my VirtualBox. It doesn't create the screenshots.
Whenever I try to take a screenshot in my virtual machines, I use the Host + E, it opens a menu to choose the location to save the screenshot and I click on Save to save it.
But when I go to the location where it is supposed to have the picture, it's not there.
I tried with multiple virtual machines and the outcome is the same.
I'm using Windows 10 Home with VirtualBox 6.0.10 and Extension Pack 6.0.10.
I tried to search about this issue on the internet, but no one seems to have the same problem.
Can anyone help me?

Thank you for your time.
Attachments
Ubuntu-2019-08-02-17-01-32.zip
(28.08 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
Last edited by RubenAndreTei on 4. Aug 2019, 14:00, edited 2 times in total.
RubenAndreTei
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2. Aug 2019, 17:39

Re: VirtualBox doesn't create screenshots

Postby scottgus1 » 2. Aug 2019, 18:03

Are you by chance running Virtualbox as administrator? If so, you might have this happen. Just a wild guess, really.
Human government is like that crazy uncle who hides a quarter in his fist behind his back, then asks you to guess which fist the quarter is in...
No matter which side you choose, Left or Right, both Sides are empty.
scottgus1
 
Posts: 4262
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win7

Re: VirtualBox doesn't create screenshots

Postby RubenAndreTei » 2. Aug 2019, 18:31

I tried running with as administrator and without, but the issue is still there
RubenAndreTei
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2. Aug 2019, 17:39

Re: VirtualBox doesn't create screenshots

Postby mpack » 3. Aug 2019, 11:02

00:00:42.776983 VMMDev: Guest Additions information report: Version 5.2.18 r123745 '5.2.18_KernelUbuntu'

You should definitely try it with the VirtualBox Guest Additions, not Guest Additions from a fork.

This is a Guest Additions feature by the way: the extension pack is not relevant.

Myself I just use the Windows Snipping tool on the host.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 29692
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: VirtualBox doesn't create screenshots

Postby RubenAndreTei » 3. Aug 2019, 17:19

I installed the VirtualBox Guest Additions and I still have the same issue.

I was using that tool too, but when I have a work with more than 300 prints it's easier with the VirtualBox instead of the tool from Windows
Attachments
Ubuntu-2019-08-03-16-23-45.zip
(31.29 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
RubenAndreTei
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2. Aug 2019, 17:39

Re: VirtualBox doesn't create screenshots

Postby RubenAndreTei » 3. Aug 2019, 23:59

I think I found the error, but I can't find the solution.

I tried to take 2 screenshots and these lines got added to "VBoxSVC".

00:01:00.217117 ERROR [COM]: aRC=VBOX_E_IPRT_ERROR (0x80bb0005) aIID={5047460a-265d-4538-b23e-ddba5fb84976} aComponent={SessionMachine} aText={Saved screenshot data is not available (VERR_NOT_SUPPORTED)}, preserve=false aResultDetail=-37

00:16:44.992741 ERROR [COM]: aRC=VBOX_E_IPRT_ERROR (0x80bb0005) aIID={5047460a-265d-4538-b23e-ddba5fb84976} aComponent={SessionMachine} aText={Saved screenshot data is not available (VERR_NOT_SUPPORTED)}, preserve=false aResultDetail=-37
RubenAndreTei
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2. Aug 2019, 17:39

Re: VirtualBox doesn't create screenshots

Postby mpack » 4. Aug 2019, 16:14

That normally means that the graphical component of the GAs is not running, e.g. because the guest OS doesn't have a GUI.

Assuming that you do have a desktop, then the only other thing I see is a bunch of hardening errors :-

00:00:18.859128 supR3HardenedErrorV: supR3HardenedScreenImage/LdrLoadDll: rc=VERR_SUP_VP_NOT_OWNED_BY_TRUSTED_INSTALLER fImage=1 fProtect=0x0 fAccess=0x0 \Device\HarddiskVolume4\Users\Rúben\AppData\Local\Microsoft\OneDrive\19.103.0527.0003\amd64\FileSyncShell64.dll: supHardenedWinVerifyImageByHandle: TrustedInstaller is not the owner of '\Device\HarddiskVolume4\Users\Rúben\AppData\Local\Microsoft\OneDrive\19.103.0527.0003\amd64\FileSyncShell64.dll'.
00:00:18.859266 supR3HardenedErrorV: supR3HardenedMonitor_LdrLoadDll: rejecting 'C:\Users\Rúben\AppData\Local\Microsoft\OneDrive\19.103.0527.0003\amd64\FileSyncShell64.dll' (C:\Users\Rúben\AppData\Local\Microsoft\OneDrive\19.103.0527.0003\amd64\FileSyncShell64.dll): rcNt=0xc0000190


I find it odd that a DLL is being loaded from a OneDrive location, that seems inherently insecure to me.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 29692
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: VirtualBox doesn't create screenshots

Postby RubenAndreTei » 4. Aug 2019, 17:37

I'm using a laptop.

I uninstalled the OneDrive and the issue is still here, I don't know what can I do.
RubenAndreTei
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2. Aug 2019, 17:39

Re: VirtualBox doesn't create screenshots

Postby socratis » 14. Aug 2019, 07:24

I don't think that this is a guest issue, I think it's solely a host issue. Just to test it, create a new throwaway VM (e.g. DOS), try to run it, it will fail in the no bootable medium found. Try to take a screenshot. And tell me where exactly you're trying to save the screenshot.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25232
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: VirtualBox doesn't create screenshots

Postby RubenAndreTei » 24. Aug 2019, 17:51

Socratis sorry for taking so long to answer, I was on vacations.

I created a new VM (DOS) and did what you said, and the screenshot didn't saved.

I tried to save it on original location --> C:\Users\Rúben\VirtualBox VMs\DOS\

I tried to save it on --> C:\Users\Rúben\Desktop but the outcome is the same.
RubenAndreTei
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2. Aug 2019, 17:39

Re: VirtualBox doesn't create screenshots

Postby scottgus1 » 24. Aug 2019, 20:30

Could the accented u be the issue? Try to save to a folder with only basic ASCII letters for the name, like 'C:\screenshots".
Human government is like that crazy uncle who hides a quarter in his fist behind his back, then asks you to guess which fist the quarter is in...
No matter which side you choose, Left or Right, both Sides are empty.
scottgus1
 
Posts: 4262
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win7

Re: VirtualBox doesn't create screenshots

Postby RubenAndreTei » 24. Aug 2019, 23:47

I created a folder "Screnshots" in C: and tried to save it there but still not working.

Two weeks ago I bought a new computer, and even on a new computer the issue is still there.

The interesting thing is that the screenshots are saved on Desktop, but I can't on Laptops.
Last edited by RubenAndreTei on 26. Aug 2019, 12:37, edited 1 time in total.
RubenAndreTei
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2. Aug 2019, 17:39

Re: VirtualBox doesn't create screenshots

Postby socratis » 25. Aug 2019, 20:28

RubenAndreTei wrote:The interesting thing is that the screenshots are saved in Desktop, but I can't on Laptops.

Then you got to search for the differences between the two. Do you have any antivirus, nanny-software, protections, etc? Something must be interfering...
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25232
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: VirtualBox doesn't create screenshots

Postby RubenAndreTei » 26. Aug 2019, 00:22

I tried that on first place, even tried the permissions, and I didn't see the diferrence.
I have Windows Defender on both computers. No nanny-software and no protections.
Yeah, I know, but the strange thing is if I open powershell in virtualbox folder and use the command to take screenshot (PS C:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox> .\vboxmanage controlvm "Ubuntu Client" screenshotpng 'C:\Users\Rúben\Desktop\Screenshots\teste.png'), it saves on where I want.
So I'm more confused now, why the inside shortcut doesnt work but the command does?
RubenAndreTei
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2. Aug 2019, 17:39

Re: VirtualBox doesn't create screenshots

Postby socratis » 28. Aug 2019, 21:29

RubenAndreTei wrote:So I'm more confused now, why the inside shortcut doesnt work but the command does?

I don't have the slightest idea, but I'm also almost 100% sure that this is not a VirtualBox issue, but a host issue. I honestly wouldn't know where to start troubleshooting this, maybe the applications/helpers that you have installed on your host?
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25232
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5


Return to VirtualBox on Windows Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 49 guests