Page 1 of 1

[Solved] VB in Win7 - After START, stuck in "did not start sucecess"

PostPosted: 25. May 2019, 19:23
by Construtor
Hi there, maybe someone can help me figure this out.

I have installed VB 6.0.8 and when I try to run an appliance, it loads the boot screen and then goes to the "...did not start successfully... chose safe mode start, etc...

When I go to settings, there are no error messages.

Here is the VBox.log file... not sure if any of the other 4 are needed.

Thanks for the help! I am new to this VB...

Roberto

Re: VB in Win7 - After START, stuck in "did not start sucecess"

PostPosted: 25. May 2019, 20:02
by mpack
RAM on this host is tight. I would reduce RAM allocated to the VM to 512MB.

Where did this copy of XP come from? It doesn't look like a fresh install of XP.

Re: VB in Win7 - After START, stuck in "did not start sucecess"

PostPosted: 25. May 2019, 21:47
by Construtor
I got this file from Manuals4You. It is a manual for a car...

I moved the Base Memore down to 512 in System Settings. But still same issue.

:(

Re: VB in Win7 - After START, stuck in "did not start sucecess"

PostPosted: 25. May 2019, 22:49
by Construtor
I have uninstalled and reinstalled both VB and the appliance and as I am running windows 7, I found an option to choose that... but still no go.

Here is the new vlog file


Thanks for trying to help!!!

Re: VB in Win7 - After START, stuck in "did not start sucecess"

PostPosted: 26. May 2019, 04:28
by socratis
00:00:00.438269 CPUM: No hardware-virtualization capability detected

That might be a problem. Your i7-640M CPU certainly supports VT-x, can you make sure it's enabled in the BIOS?

Re: VB in Win7 - After START, stuck in "did not start sucecess"

PostPosted: 26. May 2019, 09:39
by mpack
Construtor wrote:as I am running windows 7, I found an option to choose that

Now you have me worried. The OS version template is supposed to match whatever guest OS you are trying to install. The host OS is not relevant.

This error makes me wonder if even the XP selection was correct: for all I know you're trying to boot a PDF as a VM. A screenshot might have allayed those concerns.

Can you provide an original download link for this appliance?

Re: VB in Win7 - After START, stuck in "did not start sucecess"

PostPosted: 26. May 2019, 17:35
by Construtor
@socratis, Sorry, could you walk me through how to do that? Very sorry.


@mpack, I don't believe I can give you that link as it is a paid link... : ( I know you need it to help me out and I am not trying to be difficult at all. Please, what screenshot do you need? I am giving you this one for now until you let me know.

Also, when I reinstalled both VB and appliance, the default brought it back to XP, so since change it to Win7 didn't make a difference (as you mentioned, it doesn't matter), I left it at XP.

Sad that after paying this money, I have not heard from the tech support from Manual4you yet...


Thank you for sticking around this far!!!

Re: VB in Win7 - After START, stuck in "did not start sucecess"

PostPosted: 26. May 2019, 17:50
by Construtor
@socratis, after browsing VM a bit more, I guess the BIOS setting you speak of is on the host, right? Just checking...

Re: VB in Win7 - After START, stuck in "did not start sucecess"

PostPosted: 26. May 2019, 18:16
by Construtor
Ah! found the VT-x option. Funny, it doesn't let me click on it?!

Re: VB in Win7 - After START, stuck in "did not start sucecess"

PostPosted: 26. May 2019, 18:58
by Construtor
Okay, once more, reinstalled it and left all at its default. The VT-x option is now clicked. But still no go. Now you see the invalid setting detected, with is talking about the acceleration...

Re: VB in Win7 - After START, stuck in "did not start sucecess"

PostPosted: 27. May 2019, 02:00
by Construtor
socratis was right from the get go!!! I have enabled virtualization in the BIOS and now it works!!!

Thank you for the help!!

Sorry took me a while to catch on...

zzzzzz

Re: VB in Win7 - After START, stuck in "did not start sucecess"

PostPosted: 28. May 2019, 07:35
by socratis
Construtor wrote:I have enabled virtualization in the BIOS and now it works!!!

Glad you got it going. Marking as [Solved].