Installation VB 6.0.6 fails when RamDrive will be used

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.

Installation VB 6.0.6 fails when RamDrive will be used

Postby Joshuar1 » 24. Apr 2019, 08:05

Hi Folks,

seems Installer screws up when Host Win10 incl. RamDrive like r:\temp will be used.

Error comes up like "File not found". After short investigation i could install 6.0.6 by this:

VirtualBox-6.0.6-130049-Win.exe --path "C:\Users\Josh\Downloads\VirtualBox-6.0.6-130049-Win"

Installer was able to extract .msi File and Installation walks thru smoothly.

VBoxInstallLog will show this when you did not use --path:
MSI (c) (1C:D8) [07:30:11:044]: Switching to server: EXECUTEACTION="INSTALL" EXISTINGINSTALLDIR="C:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox\" INSTALLDIR="C:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox\" VENDOR="C:\Program Files\Oracle\" TARGETDIR="C:\" CURRENTDIRECTORY="C:\Users\Josh\Downloads" ACTION="INSTALL" PREVIOUSVERSIONSINSTALLED="{9E2B30E6-2102-45C0-9EAF-B631EBCEC198}" CLIENTUILEVEL="0" CLIENTPROCESSID="8476" USERNAME="Josh" SOURCEDIR="R:\Temp\VirtualBox\" SECONDSEQUENCE="1" ROOTDRIVE="C:\" INSTALLLEVEL="1"  ADDLOCAL=VBoxUSB,VBoxApplication,VBoxNetworkFlt,VBoxNetwork,VBoxNetworkAdp,VBoxPython  
MSI (s) (0C:A8) [07:30:11:044]: Running installation inside multi-package transaction R:\Temp\VirtualBox\VirtualBox-6.0.6-r130049-MultiArch_amd64.msi
MSI (s) (0C:A8) [07:30:11:044]: Grabbed execution mutex.
MSI (s) (0C:28) [07:30:11:060]: Resetting cached policy values
MSI (s) (0C:28) [07:30:11:060]: Machine policy value 'Debug' is 7
MSI (s) (0C:28) [07:30:11:060]: ******* RunEngine:
******* Product: R:\Temp\VirtualBox\VirtualBox-6.0.6-r130049-MultiArch_amd64.msi
******* Action: INSTALL
******* CommandLine: EXECUTEACTION="INSTALL" EXISTINGINSTALLDIR="C:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox\" INSTALLDIR="C:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox\" VENDOR="C:\Program Files\Oracle\" TARGETDIR="C:\" CURRENTDIRECTORY="C:\Users\Josh\Downloads" ACTION="INSTALL" PREVIOUSVERSIONSINSTALLED="{9E2B30E6-2102-45C0-9EAF-B631EBCEC198}" CLIENTUILEVEL="0" CLIENTPROCESSID="8476" USERNAME="Josh" SOURCEDIR="R:\Temp\VirtualBox\" SECONDSEQUENCE="1" ROOTDRIVE="C:\" INSTALLLEVEL="1" ADDLOCAL=VBoxUSB,VBoxApplication,VBoxNetworkFlt,VBoxNetwork,VBoxNetworkAdp,VBoxPython
MSI (s) (0C:28) [07:30:11:060]: Machine policy value 'DisableUserInstalls' is 0
MSI (s) (0C:28) [07:30:11:075]: Note: 1: 2203 2: C:\WINDOWS\Installer\inprogressinstallinfo.ipi 3: -2147287038
MSI (s) (0C:28) [07:30:11:075]: Machine policy value 'LimitSystemRestoreCheckpointing' is 0
MSI (s) (0C:28) [07:30:11:075]: Note: 1: 1715 2: Oracle VM VirtualBox 6.0.6
MSI (s) (0C:28) [07:30:11:075]: Calling SRSetRestorePoint API. dwRestorePtType: 0, dwEventType: 102, llSequenceNumber: 0, szDescription: "Installed Oracle VM VirtualBox 6.0.6".
MSI (s) (0C:28) [07:30:11:169]: The call to SRSetRestorePoint API succeeded. Returned status: 0, llSequenceNumber: 86.
MSI (s) (0C:28) [07:30:11:169]: Error: Getting file path failed: R:\Temp\VirtualBox\VirtualBox-6.0.6-r130049-MultiArch_amd64.msi, error = 1

Devs should have an eye on %TEMP Var

Cheers,
Josh
Last edited by socratis on 24. Apr 2019, 11:22, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Enclosed the information in [quote][pre] tags for better readability
Joshuar1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 24. Apr 2019, 07:56

Re: Installation VB 6.0.6 fails when RamDrive will be used

Postby Martin » 24. Apr 2019, 08:28

That is a MSI installer problem, or one of your ramdrive software.
The installer (written by Microsoft ;)) uses standard Windows system functions and fails with the "Getting file path failed" error.

It also happens without any VirtualBox involvement:
https://developercommunity.visualstudio ... ac-14.html
Martin
Volunteer
 
Posts: 2241
Joined: 30. May 2007, 18:05
Primary OS: Fedora other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: XP, Win7, Linux, OS/2

Re: Installation VB 6.0.6 fails when RamDrive will be used

Postby p0358 » 14. Jun 2019, 23:28

Joshuar1 wrote:VirtualBox-6.0.6-130049-Win.exe --path "C:\Users\Josh\Downloads\VirtualBox-6.0.6-130049-Win"

Thanks, that finally worked for me!

I wonder if VirtualBox could do anything about it, since regular users, without finding out how to enable and write logs, are only left with the message:
The system cannot find the device or file specified

Hopefully the pasted error message above will also make it easier for other people having similiar issue to find this thread :)
p0358
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 14. Jun 2019, 23:17


Return to VirtualBox on Windows Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 41 guests