[Solved] Win98 VBox failing to see COM port

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.
irishlazz
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win98SE

[Solved] Win98 VBox failing to see COM port

Post by irishlazz »

Hi, newbie here. I've got a Win98 VB on a Win10 host. Trying to run and "antique" piece of equipment in my lab for which newer software is not available. So far I have the Win98 VB running smoothly, and the software is loaded and also running.

The next big hurdle is getting the Win98 box to see the COM port that the equipment is plugged in to. In Device Mgr there are no COM/Ports listed at all. (attachment) Any thoughts?
Attachments
host, settings & guest details
host, settings & guest details
no coms.gif (99.53 KiB) Viewed 3257 times
What would a subatomic duck say? Quark.
mpack
Site Moderator
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Win98 VBox failing to see COM port

Post by mpack »

Use "Add new hardware" in the Win98 control panel, after you've added the serial ports in the VM settings.

p.s. I suggest that in future you use "Windows Snipping Tool" to capture screenshots in PNG format. Floyd-Steinberg dithering was brilliant in its day, but that day was over at least twenty years ago! :)
irishlazz

Post by irishlazz »

mpack - I did use snip, but by pasting 3 into one it made for a file too large for upload. :lol:

So I installed the com in win98. It gave the "this isn't the right/best driver, are you sure" warning but installed. It starts at com5 and my ancient software is looking for com1 or com2. I've tried to force it, but it won't accept either the com1 or 2 I/O range. More thoughts?
com 01.PNG
com 01.PNG (26.9 KiB) Viewed 3229 times
mpack
Site Moderator

Post by mpack »

Why are you trying to configure a COM5 inside the guest? Win98SE has no idea how to handle a COM5. You can't possibly have found that using "Add new hardware".

It should be COM1, which has well known I/O and IRQ assignments.
irishlazz

Post by irishlazz »