Page 3 of 14

Re: VirtualBox 6.0 and Hyper-V

PostPosted: 6. Jan 2019, 05:17
by jmar83_the2nd
ok thx

Re: VirtualBox 6.0 and Hyper-V

PostPosted: 8. Jan 2019, 01:01
by irak
HyperV is now forced on nd...
WHvCreatePartition failed with E_ACCESSDENIED (Last=0xc0000022/5) (VERR_NEM_VM_CREATE_FAILED).
VT-x is not available (VERR_VMX_NO_VMX).

Result Code: E_FAIL (0x80004005)
Component: ConsoleWrap
Interface: IConsole {872da645-4a9b-1727-bee2-5585105b9eed}

Still Dead Build
18309

Re: VirtualBox 6.0 and Hyper-V

PostPosted: 8. Jan 2019, 01:37
by socratis
@irak
This is not Twitter, you're not limited to 140 characters. You've got to explain the situation in way more detail, we're not charging people by the character!

Start with what's "nd" for example...

Re: VirtualBox 6.0 and Hyper-V

PostPosted: 8. Jan 2019, 15:49
by RichardT
I get the same VT-X error "VT-x is not available". I am running on Windows 1809 and my two VirtualBox machines are fine when I boot without Hyper-V using "hypervisorlaunchtype off" in a boot option. If Hyper-V is running then neither machine work. One machine is Windows 98.

Richard

Re: VirtualBox 6.0 and Hyper-V

PostPosted: 8. Jan 2019, 17:36
by socratis
@RichardT
A "me too" won't help, unless we have details (mainly about the CPU). So, we need to see a complete VBox.log, from a complete VM run, where the problem occurs:
  • Start the VM from cold-boot (not from a paused or saved state) / Observe problem / Shutdown the VM (force close it if you have to).
  • With the VM completely shut down (not paused or saved), right-click on the VM in the VirtualBox Manager and select "Show Log".
  • Save only the first "VBox.log", ZIP it and attach it to your response. See the "Upload attachment" tab below the reply form.
Image

Re: VirtualBox 6.0 and Hyper-V

PostPosted: 8. Jan 2019, 20:50
by nathaniel515
To those who are getting the "native API not available" or some other error with hyper v enabled, make sure you're on Windows 10 1809 and have the Windows Hypervisor Platform optional feature enabled (not just hyper-v)

Re: VirtualBox 6.0 and Hyper-V

PostPosted: 8. Jan 2019, 21:26
by socratis
That's a very, very good point "nathaniel515", I'll add the info on the first post! 8)

Re: VirtualBox 6.0 and Hyper-V

PostPosted: 9. Jan 2019, 19:40
by irak
Sorry socratis and about the nd instead of and .I'm partially Blind

Re: VirtualBox 6.0 and Hyper-V

PostPosted: 9. Jan 2019, 19:52
by irak
Thank you for your responses

I have made sure that the Hypervisor was enabled and I am submitting my log

Re: VirtualBox 6.0 and Hyper-V

PostPosted: 10. Jan 2019, 03:31
by RichardT
mpack wrote:Could the last two posters please provide evidence that Hyper-v is installed, enabled and working on your host PCs. I don't use Hyper-v myself, perhaps others can suggest where to look.

I wasn't one of the previous two posters but I have the same problem. The evidence that Hyper-V is installed and running is that I can run my Windows 10 VM which I use quite a bit as it a virtualized version of my previous computer.

Re: VirtualBox 6.0 and Hyper-V

PostPosted: 10. Jan 2019, 04:06
by RichardT
I have attached the log as suggested. Since I can reboot without Hyper-V and get to my VMs this isn't critical just inconvenient and disappointing.

Richard

Re: VirtualBox 6.0 and Hyper-V

PostPosted: 16. Jan 2019, 17:42
by irak
Any update on this issue please?

Re: VirtualBox 6.0 and Hyper-V

PostPosted: 17. Jan 2019, 04:00
by DanzanRyu
I think I may have the same problem as described in this thread. Just wanted to offer another data point, in case it helps. I am also running on an AMD Ryzen system. Might not be related at all, but I thought I'd mention it just in case.

Also, I verified that Hyper-V was definitely enabled and working by installing and running an Ubuntu 18.04 VM through the Hyper-V console.

After removing Hyper-V from Windows features, VirtualBox returns to normal operation and I can run my VirtualBox VMs without issue.

I am running Windows 10 1809.

Re: VirtualBox 6.0 and Hyper-V

PostPosted: 17. Jan 2019, 05:50
by BillG
You don't really need to uninstall Hyper-V. All you need to do is prevent the hypervisor from loading. You can do in from bcdedit.

https://derekgusoff.wordpress.com/2012/ ... e-machine/

Re: VirtualBox 6.0 and Hyper-V

PostPosted: 17. Jan 2019, 06:21
by nathaniel515
Has anyone actually managed to get any guest to boot up on VirtualBox 6 (with Hyper-V and Windows Hypervisor Framework)? I can get to the Grub menu on an Ubuntu guest but it just goes to a black screen after that and freezes. Windows guests do the same (except no grub menu of course)