Guest time sync with host

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.
PP

Guest time sync with host

Post by PP »

Hi all,
I'm pretty new to Virtualbox and right now I'm trying to get time synchronization to work from host to guest. I'm running a Windows7 VM on a Win10 host. Time synchronization is not working. I have tried using vboxmanage "vm" vboxinternal/devices/vmmdev/0/config/gethosttimedisabled 0, however, when I start up the VM time sync is not working, i.e. in my case guest time is one year behind host time. Simultaneously (when the VM is starting) the vm.vbox is modified where "gethosttimedisabled" is reset to "1".
Anyone have any great ideas why gethosttimedisabled 0 is not preserved?

Regards,
Per
socratis
Site Moderator
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: Guest time sync with host

Post by socratis »

1. Do not mess with time. Why did you start messing with it? I've never had a guest that needed manual "massaging" of its time. And I have plenty of guests...
  2. Right-click on the VM in the VirtualBox Manager. Select "Show in Finder/Explorer/Whatever". ZIP the selected ".vbox" file and attach it to your response.
Do NOT send me Personal Messages (PMs) for troubleshooting, they are simply deleted.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
PP

Post by PP »

Hi,
I didn't mess with time... VM is inherited from another user. :-)
Thanks for swift reply!
//Per
Attachments
MFGDEV_Environment.zip
(2.38 KiB) Downloaded 160 times
socratis
Site Moderator
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Post by socratis »

1. Quit VirtualBox and wait for 1 minute, or even better, restart your host computer.
  2. Make a backup of the .vbox file, in case you mess it up.