No INET addrss (eth0) in NatNetwork mode.

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.
alexleence

No INET addrss (eth0) in NatNetwork mode.

Post by alexleence »

Hello,
I am following an online course where I have to set up Kali Linux and OWASP broken apps in NetNetwork mode so that I can access owasp via its address (from the other machine). However, ifconfig returns no INET address (like 192.168.xx.x), for neither of them and thus I cannot access one machine from the other. Same happens when I run the two in Host-only mode. When I run normal NAT mode I get the usual 10.0.2.x but since the two machines are assigned the same address, I cannot access one from the other (thus I need NatNetwork instead of NAT).

Here is an image of the ifconfig output (on owasp).
image.ibb.co/ jGV8NU /Untitled.png

I have tried everything I could possibly think of. However, I am almost a complete newbie when it comes to VMs. I would appreciate any help. Thank you.
alexleence

Re: No INET addrss (eth0) in NatNetwork mode.

Post by alexleence »

Hello,
Since I failed to find out how to make dhcp work, I decided to hardcode the addresses as static ones. All you have to do is the following:
run: nano /etc/network/interfaces
Once the document is up, change dhcp to static and add your address and mask.
Thus:

Code: Select all

Iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.58.101 (or whatever address you want to use)
netmask 255.255.255.0
Then save the document (c^x -> Y), and restart the networking service by running /etc/init.d/networking restart
Afterward, assign another address like 192.168.58.102 to your second machine. Afterward, both of your machines will be able to ping each other (or/and access their respective addresses).
I hope this helps whomever was stuck like me.
socratis
Site Moderator
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: No INET addrss (eth0) in NatNetwork mode.

Post by socratis »