vboxsvr disappeared after Win10 update

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.
TomG

vboxsvr disappeared after Win10 update

Post by TomG »

I installed VirtualBox on Win10, and created a Win10 guest machine. Everything was working fine, until this morning when Windows applied an upgrade on the Guest machine. Now my drives shared from the host have disappeared. I recreated them using Shared Folder Settings in the guest, but when I go to Network in Windows Explorer, vboxsvr is not there.

I've tried going to Devices/Insert Guest Additions CD but nothing happens when I click on it. I downloaded the most recent Guest Additions file from Oracle and reinstalled it.

I have tried rebooting the guest and host machines.

I'm running on a Win10 PC, i7-8700K with 64 Gb RAM.

I'm very new to VirtualBox, and virtual machines in general, and would greatly appreciate any guidance.
mpack
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: vboxsvr disappeared after Win10 update

Post by mpack »

Depending on how the guest OS is configured, inserting the Guest Additions CD may do nothing other than insert the CD - you should run the GAs installer manually (browse to the CD and run VBoxWindowsAdditions.exe). And yes, lots of things can be broken by a Win10 feature update, which I assume this was.
socratis
Site Moderator
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Post by socratis »

TomG wrote:I downloaded the most recent Guest Additions file from Oracle and reinstalled it.
Do not download the Guest Additions (GAs) ISO as a stand-alone file, unless directed to do so when troubleshooting. The GAs come bundled with your VirtualBox for a very good reason; they match the main program version, no room for mistakes. You simply go to the menu "Devices" » "Insert GAs CD image..." and that should do it.
Do NOT send me Personal Messages (PMs) for troubleshooting, they are simply deleted.