Nested virtualization when starting VM stuck at 0%

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.
Mitchy

Nested virtualization when starting VM stuck at 0%

Post by Mitchy »

Hello.

First thank you very much for taking the time to open this thread and read it, any assistance is greatly appreciated, I have hit a brick wall with trying to solve these problems as the majority of use cases I can find with similar problems are being operated within linux operating systems and the troubleshooting steps people are using for Linux is hard to adapt to windows.

I am studying nested virtualization for University and we are attempting to run Virtual Box within a VMware windows host, when I attempt to run oracle from within the VMware VM it goes to starting 0% then no longer works and often freezes the VM it will run within. When running Virtual Box directly upon the host not within a VM it functions correctly. I am hoping somebody might have the time to help me.

I am very confused why I can run VMS directly upon host but when using oracle nested within VMware it will not work, I have tested it on a ThinkStation desktop with 6700 intel cpu at university and it appears to work correctly, is it possible that the 8700 k is the problem?

Some time tonight or tomorrow I will be using nested virtualization with ESX/vsphere/vcenter, I will update this thread on if nested virtualization works within other applications to isolate if it is an incompatible hardware issue that is spread across multiple vendors software.

The system I am running this on is the following.

8700k OC 5ghz.
32 GB 3200 MHZ DDR4 RAM.
Z370 chipset board. (Gaming aorus 5)
250 GB SSD + 4 x internal 3.5" HDD.
AMD 290X GPU
Networking is done via the ethernet ports which I believe is using Intel Ethernet adapter drivers.

The troubleshooting steps I have taken so far.

Enabling/Disabling VT-d on motherboard.
Enabling I/O APIC within virtual box.
Enabling PAE/NX within virtual box.