Virtualbox problem with Trusteer Rapport

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.

Re: Virtualbox problem with Trusteer Rapport

Postby zatz » 5. May 2019, 11:39

JorgeOC wrote:Is this still the only solution to the Trusteer Rapport problem (the one posted by IBM)?


If you mean the one here viewtopic.php?f=6&t=88480#p427703 where you rename files, then it's probably not the only solution.

The solution that I posted later in this thread viewtopic.php?f=6&t=88480&p=448061#p429051 which is also from IBM works for me. The only issue is that you need to change the registry settings again when you install a new version of VirtualBox.
zatz
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 7. Aug 2015, 09:50

Re: Virtualbox problem with Trusteer Rapport

Postby JorgeOC » 5. May 2019, 21:03

Thank you very much for the observation, I don´t know how I missed it.I will try it and in case of problems I will come back. Regards
JorgeOC
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 5. May 2019, 04:22

Re: Virtualbox problem with Trusteer Rapport

Postby JorgeOC » 6. May 2019, 00:16

Sorry to say, I followed zatz instructions and still not working. I do not know what else to do. I enclose log file. Any help will be appreciated.
Regards
Attachments
VBoxHardening.rar
this is the first run after installing and following zatz's procedure
(9.65 KiB) Downloaded 29 times
JorgeOC
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 5. May 2019, 04:22

Re: Virtualbox problem with Trusteer Rapport

Postby JorgeOC » 14. May 2019, 06:28

I'm happy to say that VM is working now. I did not do anything else to fix it. Besides I do not have tu run the command "sc start vboxdrv" everytime I boot my PC. The VBoxDrv key values start remains as 3 and Type as 2. The only event was a Windows update, I would doubt it fixed it. Anyway thanks for the help.
JorgeOC
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 5. May 2019, 04:22

Re: Virtualbox problem with Trusteer Rapport

Postby allanpcat » 13. Aug 2019, 20:40

Well, a year on from Trusteer Rapport being aware of this bug, their program is still stopping the VM machine loading OS's with a 'box hardening' error. I've tried reloading the latest version of Trusteer Rapport and still the same bug. Fortunately, uninstalling Trusteer Rapport re-enables Virtualbox. I'm sick of this and will now take my chances of using online banking without Trusteer Rapport.
allanpcat
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 29. Oct 2014, 11:53

Re: Virtualbox problem with Trusteer Rapport

Postby scottgus1 » 13. Aug 2019, 20:54

@allanpcat, There were a couple solutions above that seem to have worked for folks.

Another alternative: run Trusteer Rapport inside a Virtualbox guest? (I don't use this software so I don't know if it would work or not.)
scottgus1
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 8077
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: Virtualbox problem with Trusteer Rapport

Postby Retired snobird » 21. Feb 2020, 15:56

The hardening problem still exists with the latest version. I unchecked the "Rapport Management Service" program from the Services tab in "system configuration" and VBox works again.
Retired snobird
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 1. Jan 2020, 18:08

Re: Virtualbox problem with Trusteer Rapport

Postby mpack » 21. Feb 2020, 17:45

Retired snobird wrote:The hardening problem still exists with the latest version.

I think you mean that the Trusteer Rapport conflict with VirtualBox still exists in the latest version of Trusteer Rapport. Only people using Trusteer Rapport see the Trusteer Rapport conflict.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 31806
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Virtualbox problem with Trusteer Rapport

Postby PeteThePen1 » 13. May 2020, 20:03

Yes, the Trusteer problem has not been resolved by IBM yet. I bank with Santander and they are currently pushing it (May 2020) and so I installed it. VB died just as for all the other posters. I only realised that it was the problem by looking back to my notes from 2018 when last had VB issues. Now uninstalled and VB updated to the latest version and all working perfectly. 5 Stars for the VB Team, 0 starts for IBM's Trusteer Team.

Pete
PeteThePen1
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 11. Oct 2012, 13:59

Previous

Return to VirtualBox on Windows Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 56 guests