Critical error occurred on my VM

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.
TexasT

Critical error occurred on my VM

Post by TexasT »

I’m using a Dell Precision T7400 running. Windows 7 64-bit PC, I installed Virtualbox. Just so you know I’m new at using Virtualbox .
I restored a Veeam server image and as the restore completed. I went to start the VM and the following error message popped up.
VirtuaBox – Guru Meditation
A critical error has occurred while running the virtual machine and the machine execution has been stopped. For help, please see the community section on _____url for virtualbox goes here____ or your support contract. Please provide the contents of the log file VBox.log and the image file VBox.png, which you can find in the \C:\Users\...as well as a description of what you were doing when the error happened. Note that you can also access the above files by selecting Show log from the Machine menu of the main VirtualBox window.
I would appreciate any help in resolving this issue, and I do not see where I can upload my log file.

TexasT

I see now see where to upload files, just uploded vbox_error_TT.zip
Attachments
Vbox_error_TT.zip
(39.26 KiB) Downloaded 23 times
Last edited by socratis on 6. Jun 2018, 23:51, edited 3 times in total.
Reason: Enclosed the information in [quote] tag for better readability
socratis
Site Moderator
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: Critical error occurred on my VM

Post by socratis »

We're going to need a complete VBox.log, from a complete VM run:
  • Gathering the necessary information:
    1. Start the VM from cold-boot (not from a paused or saved state).
    2. Observe the error, i.e. the Guru Meditation.
    3. Shutdown the VM (force close it if you have to).
  • With the VM completely shut down (not paused or saved), right-click on the VM in the VirtualBox Manager and select "Show Log".