Boot uefi vhd on bios computer

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.
Joe Thompson

Boot uefi vhd on bios computer

Post by Joe Thompson »

Hey all,

I've tried searching but, haven't found anything relevant to my situation. But that might be because I'm a virtualization newbie and don't fully understand it.

I have a Windows 10 laptop using UEFI. I've made a VHD of the hard drive using Disk2VHD. I have a host laptop, using BIOS, and running Windows 10. I'm trying to get the VHD I made from the UEFI laptop to run as a guest on the BIOS laptop, but it won't boot. I get an error about "can't find media". I can turn on the "Enable EFI" setting on the VM, but that boots into a shell that I can't get out of.

Is what I'm trying to do possible? I'm guessing maybe a BIOS host can't run a UEFI guest, but I can't seem to find the answer.

Thanks,
Joe
socratis
Site Moderator
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: Boot uefi vhd on bios computer

Post by socratis »

Joe Thompson wrote: I've made a VHD of the hard drive using Disk2VHD.
99.999% that's where things didn't go as planned. For example, if you selected just a partition and not the whole disk.
Joe Thompson wrote: I get an error about "can't find media".
That's not the whole error, is it?
Joe Thompson wrote: I can turn on the "Enable EFI" setting on the VM
As you should. Your Win10 was setup to boot from EFI, it won't boot with a BIOS setting.
Joe Thompson wrote:that boots into a shell that I can't get out of.
That's because it can't find any bootable media. See the first point.
Joe Thompson wrote:Is what I'm trying to do possible?
Depends. Hard to say with that information alone. It's definitely doable.
Joe Thompson wrote: I'm guessing maybe a BIOS host can't run a UEFI guest
No, that's not it. It's a virtulization software, so that is definitely possible. What makes your host sing, has absolutely nothing what makes your guest sing...