Virtualbox and wireless adapter issues

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.
Nathan.008

Virtualbox and wireless adapter issues

Post by Nathan.008 »

Hello,

So, I am relatively new to Virtualbox. Today, I downloaded the program, successfully installed Windows 98se, and got it up and running. My issue is directly related to the internet. I am using a PC (with Windows 7 home edition) that has no wireless card, thus I have a wireless dongle through which I get my internet. Earlier today, I was successfully on the web on my Windows 98se. My hope was to later find and install windows 98se updates, but at the time, I just wanted to get a connection up and running. Satisfied with my progress, I shut everything down and left it for a bit.

Now, when I boot up my computer (running windows 7) the internet works as normal. However, whenever I turn on my virtual Windows 98, the connection to the internet is lost, and I cannot get it back until I shut down virtualbox, at which point I can unplug and plug in my dongle and the internet returns. I can still see the connection, and it says that it is connected, but with limited access, but there is no internet.

Has anyone ever had an issue with virtualbox somehow cutting out their wireless internet?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
mpack
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Virtualbox and wireless adapter issues

Post by mpack »

USB devices can't be shared. They are designed to be used solely by the PC you plug them into - and a VM is a separate PC. If the VM is configured to steal ownership of the USB device then naturally the host can't continue using it at the same time.

The correct way to use the device would be to leave it assigned to the host, and use NAT networking mode in the guest.
Nathan.008

Post by Nathan.008 »