How can I make .vhd files in different partitions?

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.

How can I make .vhd files in different partitions?

Postby jor4ir » 5. Dec 2017, 09:29

Hi, I used VirtualBox create parent vhd disk in D:\vbox,then I made a snapshot of it, these vhd files are set to E:\vbox_new. Then I choose restore, the guest could not start. It says"Parent UUID {00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000} of the medium does not match UUID of its parent medium stored in the media registry "
I wonder if I can set vhd and snapshots in different partitions? Thanks.
jor4ir
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 5. Dec 2017, 08:51

Re: How can I make .vhd files in different partitions?

Postby mpack » 5. Dec 2017, 10:10

That error means that your "snapshot" VHDs are not snapshots, they have just been given snapshot like names. Probably they were cloned from a snapshot original.

Of course it is impossible to perform snapshot operations on disks which are not snapshots.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25459
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: How can I make .vhd files in different partitions?

Postby socratis » 5. Dec 2017, 11:05

jor4ir wrote:I wonder if I can set vhd and snapshots in different partitions? Thanks.

Yes they can be. Your problem does not come from that part, something else is going on. Is E:\ by any chance an external USB drive?

Right-click on the VM in the VirtualBox Manager. Select "Show in Finder/Explorer/Whatever". ZIP the selected ".vbox" file and attach it to your response.

I would also like to see the directory listing (including sub-directories) of "D:\vbox" and "E:\vbox_new". Open a Command prompt, navigate to each of the directories mentioned and enter the command "dir /s".
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 12622
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: How can I make .vhd files in different partitions?

Postby mpack » 5. Dec 2017, 14:41

Um. Isn't it quite clear what's going on? The OP has "copied" the VHDs to another folder by cloning them. Cloning a snapshot creates a stand alone image, which is what the error message says is the case.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25459
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: How can I make .vhd files in different partitions?

Postby jor4ir » 7. Dec 2017, 06:37

I fixed it by using command "vboxmanage internalcommands sethdparentuuid". I think it's a bug of Virutalbox.
jor4ir
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 5. Dec 2017, 08:51

Re: How can I make .vhd files in different partitions?

Postby socratis » 7. Dec 2017, 07:40

jor4ir wrote:I think it's a bug of Virutalbox.
Not unless it's reproducible. And you haven't given us the exact steps to re-create the "bug", so at this point I'm more inclined to think that it's you that did something improper, rather than it being a "bug", because 1) not that many people have reported this, and 2) anyone that reported something similar, it turned out to be user error/misunderstanding.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 12622
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: How can I make .vhd files in different partitions?

Postby mpack » 7. Dec 2017, 10:07

jor4ir wrote:I fixed it by using command "vboxmanage internalcommands sethdparentuuid". I think it's a bug of Virutalbox.

That isn't a fix, that's a hack to hide the error message.

What the error message told you is still true - the selected VHD is not a snapshot. Giving it the name of a snapshot and putting it in the snapshots folder does not make it a snapshot: it has no dependencies on the parent. By ignoring error messages you are just asking for more serious failures later.

And there is no bug - as I mentioned above it's quite clear what happened here, which is that someone doesn't understand snapshots or the consequences of cloning.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25459
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP


Return to VirtualBox on Windows Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: nsmith17044, sergeyml, socratis and 49 guests