[Solved] specifying the processor-type the VM sees

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.

[Solved] specifying the processor-type the VM sees

Postby nlcarter » 27. Aug 2017, 18:46

Greetings:

I just completed replacing my motherboard, CPU, and RAM. The old hardware included an AMD FX-8350, eight-core CPU. The new hardware includes an AMD Ryzen 7-1700x, eight core CPU. Windows 7 is not supported on the new AM4 chipset (Ryzen), so I had to install Windows 10 on the host. My VirtualBox data is kept on a second drive that was not effected by the OS change, so getting VirtualBox back in operation required only a re-install of VirtualBox itself, 5.1.26, and then adding the VMs into the console. So far, so good.

The problem I'm running into is strange, I think. A Windows 7 VM I've got sees the processor as the Ryzen and complains about it not being supported on that chipset. A Windows 10 VM still sees the processor as the FX. I don't understand how or where the VMs get their processor information, but I'd love to be able to change the Windows 7 VM back to thinking it's still on the FX processor.

Any knowledge regarding this is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!!
Last edited by socratis on 10. Sep 2017, 11:32, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Marked as [Solved].
nlcarter
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 10. Apr 2014, 23:42

Re: specifying the processor-type the VM sees

Postby socratis » 27. Aug 2017, 23:49

Try the following profiles, of course while booting your VM in between the changes:

    VBoxManage modifyvm "<VM name>" --cpu-profile "Intel Xeon X5482 3.20GHz"
    VBoxManage modifyvm "<VM name>" --cpu-profile "Intel Core i7-2635QM"
    VBoxManage modifyvm "<VM name>" --cpu-profile "Intel Core i7-3960X"
    VBoxManage modifyvm "<VM name>" --cpu-profile "Intel Core i5-3570"
    VBoxManage modifyvm "<VM name>" --cpu-profile "Intel Core i7-5600U"
    VBoxManage modifyvm "<VM name>" --cpu-profile "Intel Core i7-6700K"
Start with the last one. No clue if it will work or not. A test will prove me right or wrong...
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 19737
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: specifying the processor-type the VM sees

Postby nlcarter » 28. Aug 2017, 00:41

OK, this broke the VM altogether. Wouldn't boot at all. This is an AMD host, not Intel. I was then able to restore a snapshot taken prior to trying the changes.

I went to http://www.cpu-world.com/cgi-bin/CPUID.pl?CPUID=22328 to try to get the cpu-profile for that processor, but couldn't get anything to work there, either.

Thanks, anyway!!
nlcarter
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 10. Apr 2014, 23:42

Re: specifying the processor-type the VM sees

Postby mpack » 28. Aug 2017, 10:01

nlcarter wrote:OK, this broke the VM altogether. Wouldn't boot at all.

Well, yes... you are lying to the guest OS about what the processor is. What could possibly go wrong? :roll:

Be glad it wasn't subtle this time.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 27902
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: specifying the processor-type the VM sees

Postby socratis » 29. Aug 2017, 07:53

nlcarter wrote: I was then able to restore a snapshot taken prior to trying the changes.

Or you could have issued the --cpu-profile command again with an empty argument. BTW, the snapshot restore wouldn't help, as the ExtraData that changes the CPU is not part of the snapshot.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 19737
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: specifying the processor-type the VM sees

Postby nlcarter » 2. Sep 2017, 04:55

Greetings:

Well, the snapshot DID return things to a working status, and the system still saw the Ryzen processor. Odd, I guess.

Anyway, I just tried your suggestion again this evening, and this time it appears to be working! Must have had some sort of fluke last time. The System Properties now shows an Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K CPU@ 4.00GHz 3.39GHz.

I'm hoping that Windows Update won't try to download Intel system drivers or something like that, thinking it's what it's not.

Anyway, if this continues to work, this may be a solution to everyone upgrading their host PC to a newer generation CPU but wanting to continue operating Windows 7 guests. For what it's worth, this DOES seem to get around the Microsoft warning about running Windows 7 on unsupported hardware, which appears to preclude getting further Windows updates.

Thanks for the assistance!!!
nlcarter
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 10. Apr 2014, 23:42

Re: specifying the processor-type the VM sees

Postby socratis » 10. Sep 2017, 11:32

nlcarter wrote:Anyway, I just tried your suggestion again this evening, and this time it appears to be working!

Thanks for the feedback. Marking as [Solved].
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 19737
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: [Solved] specifying the processor-type the VM sees

Postby gg99 » 18. Nov 2018, 08:36

great answer. this "--cpu-profile "Intel Core i7-6700K" allow use of and updates for windows 8.1 embedded on i7-8700 cpu. it even stopped the vm requesting activation because of the physical hardware change it saw without the modifymv.

Than you
gg99
 
Posts: 39
Joined: 19. Sep 2011, 08:27
Primary OS: MS Windows 8
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: vista, w7, w8.1, w8.1 embedded pro, xp(being phased out)


Return to VirtualBox on Windows Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 233 guests