Cannot open shared Quicken data in an XP Pro VM

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.
Trippp

Cannot open shared Quicken data in an XP Pro VM

Post by Trippp »

Hi,

I'm new to VirtualBox and have just run into a problem which I hope someone here can help me with.

I have a new Dell laptop running Win 10 Pro and would like to use VirtualBox to run my 'legacy' checkbook program, Quicken for Windows (UBS version). I was able to do this on my old Win 7 box using 'XP Mode' but there is no XP Mode in Win 10; however, I've just discovered VirtualBox (and it's so much better)!

Here's what I've done so far:

- Created a VM and installed Windows XP Pro SP3 (32 bit), 2048 MB memory. Hard disk type was VDI, dynamically allocated, 10 gig, In the Storage Settings I checked the box indicating that I was using a Solid State Drive.

- I installed Guest Additions, set the clipboard and drag & drop to bidirectional, and set up two 'shared' folders with full access: The 'Documents' folder on the Win 10 machine, where the Quicken data is stored, and the folder where I keep my installation software.

- I then installed Quicken on the VM. However, when I ran the Quicken and navigated to the 'shared' folder where the data was stored and tried to open the file, I receive a 'Quicken' error message, 'Can't Open File'. Unfortunately, no further explanation was provided.

I'm pretty sure the sharing is working because 1) I was able to install Quicken and 2) Using the Notepad program in the Windows XP VM, I was able to open an Ini file in the Quicken data library.

I'm also pretty sure Quicken is installed correctly because when I copied the Quicken data to the XP virtual machine I was able to open it without problem.

I would appreciate any suggestions you might have as to what is preventing me from being able to open the Quicken data file.

Thanks for your help,

Trip
mpack
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP