[Solved] Virtual Box 5 error. Need Help

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.
tester123

[Solved] Virtual Box 5 error. Need Help

Post by tester123 »

Hi Everyone,

I am in a lost and need help.

I am very new to virtual box. I just downloaded Docker ToolBox which included Virtual Box 5.1.18. Then I start the Boot2Docker default Linux VM, I am getting the Error "Instruction at 0x054512a0 referenced memory at 0x054612a0. the memory could not be written". then the VM just terminated. Then i downloaded a Linux VM image Mint, and it also facing the same issue. the VM started and show the Linux Mint VM startup Manual selection, then after a few seconds, it just shutdown with that error popup. Both Boot2Docker Default VM and Linux Mint seems suffers the same issue.

Intel VT-X is enabled. I confirm both in Bios and Intel CPU identification software. Host OS Windows 7 64 bit Pro

attached the logs

Thanks
Attachments
VBoxHardening.zip
(29.24 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
VBox.log
(65.66 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
mpack
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Virtual Box 5 error. Need Help

Post by mpack »

I'm afraid we do not support VirtualBox forks here: we only support the software installed by the official installer and used in the official way. You should speak to the Docker people about Docker problems.
tester123

Post by tester123 »

Hi,

I don't think this is a virtualbox folk issue. I am experiencing the same on virtualbox 5.1.20 downloaded from virtualbox.org. Docker came with Virtualbox 5.1.18 and I have uninstall then install 5.1.20 Virtualbox. I even imported a LInux Mint VM image. and both 5.1.18 came with Docker or 5.1.20 download from virtualbox.org cannot successfully start up both boot2docker or the linux Mint VM. This is why I believed it is my setup's issue instead of Docker's issue.

Here are the Linux Mint logs when start up from virtualbox 5.1.20 downloaded from Official site.
Attachments