VMDK: inconsistency between grain table and backup grain table

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.
Gamesntoys

VMDK: inconsistency between grain table and backup grain table

Post by Gamesntoys »

Hi,

I'm a VirtualBox novice who has used the program for very basic uses a few times over the years without incident.

This week I had need to make a LOT of virtual machines and everything worked fine for a few days until I ran into this error (on one of over a hundred VMs) shown in attached screenshots. I did not have a back up of most of the VMs (or the one with the error) since this was all very experimental, anyway. The loss of this one VM wouldn't be the end of the world, but I'm concerned that the same thing might happen again and just want to know how to deal with it. (I believe the corruption resulted from a power outage yesterday morning, but I'm not certain that specific VM (#138) was running at the time or that the power outage was the cause.)

From the error, "VD: error VERR_VD_VMDK_INVALID_HEADER opening image file" it seems that the error is in the header of the VMDK file, which may be "treatable." I've learned from these forums that the VMDK filetype is not the VD of choice for VirtualBox and that support for VMDK files is a little less extensive than for VDI files.

I've also learned from this thread (that I apparently can not link to since I am a new member, Forum #6, Topic #70007, entitled "[Solved] Failed to start virtual machine. please help me!") that fixing the headers of a virtual disk file may not be that complicated, though that thread pertains to working with VDI files. Since I'm not an expert on this whatsoever, I was hoping for some insight on how to proceed. Thank you very much for any assistance or insight you can share.
Attachments
Screenshot - 3_2_2017 , 04_52_00_ver002.png
Screenshot - 3_2_2017 , 04_52_00_ver002.png (40.78 KiB) Viewed 24985 times
Last edited by mpack on 2. Mar 2017, 12:52, edited 1 time in total.