KVM-intel not loading

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.

KVM-intel not loading

Postby Lana » 16. May 2016, 12:59

Hello!

I use Windows 8.1 like host, and Linux Whonix like guest.
And I want use VM into Whonix but I see the error messages: kvm-intel module not loaded

forums. whonix. org/t/virtualisations-problems/2451/4
Attachments
snapshot5.png
snapshot5.png (74.17 KiB) Viewed 1112 times
snapshot4.png
snapshot4.png (87.45 KiB) Viewed 1112 times
Lana
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 16. May 2016, 12:42

Re: KVM-intel not loading

Postby towo2099 » 16. May 2016, 13:15

VBox does not support nested virtualisation.
towo2099
Volunteer
 
Posts: 300
Joined: 18. Aug 2014, 21:53
Primary OS: Debian Sid
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Android, Linux

Re: KVM-intel not loading

Postby Lana » 16. May 2016, 13:31

And what to do?
Lana
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 16. May 2016, 12:42

Re: KVM-intel not loading

Postby towo2099 » 16. May 2016, 13:59

Lana wrote:And what to do?

Don't try to run KVM inside of your VM.
towo2099
Volunteer
 
Posts: 300
Joined: 18. Aug 2014, 21:53
Primary OS: Debian Sid
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Android, Linux

Re: KVM-intel not loading

Postby scottgus1 » 16. May 2016, 14:01

Lana wrote:And what to do?


The error refers to a KVM kernel module. Is that something Whonix needs to download?

The big think stopping a Virtualbox guest from effectively running another Virtualbox guest (nested virtualization) is that the host's VT-x/AMD-V capabilities don't get passed through the first guest to be used by the second guest. If you run Virtualbox in the first Whonix guest, you will only be able to run 32-bit one-processor second guests, and they will be painfully slow. Additionally, Windows 8 & 10 32-bit still need VT-x/AMD-V, so they won't run as the second guest at all.

Best bet is to run Whonix as the host OS if you want to test Virtualbox in Whonix.
scottgus1
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 9472
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux


Return to VirtualBox on Windows Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 58 guests