Page 2 of 3

Re: E_FAIL (0x80004005)

PostPosted: 2. Dec 2015, 08:54
by peteruw
Blue Dude wrote:It's Avira. I attempted a VM start and it hanged up, then began the Avira uninstall. During the uninstall, the VM started and now it works normally. Something about Avira Antivirus breaks Virtualbox.


Uninstalling Avira solved the problem for me, too.
Thanks, Blue Dude!

Re: E_FAIL (0x80004005)

PostPosted: 2. Dec 2015, 09:43
by Jim Tsap
Blue Dude wrote:I disabled Avira for startup, rebooted and still had an issue. I might have to uninstall it entirely and retry. It did update overnight so it might be the common factor disabling VB.

Edit: It's Avira. I attempted a VM start and it hanged up, then began the Avira uninstall. During the uninstall, the VM started and now it works normally. Something about Avira Antivirus breaks Virtualbox.


Same problem here! I have double checked it too. It's Avira's faults, caused by yesterdays update. It's still doesnt work if you disable it, or add VB components to exceptions.

We really cant remove Avira on most of our computers.
Does anyone has any idea how we can handle this problem.
Maybe contact Avira... don't know.
Uninstalling Avira seems right now the only solution.

Untitled-1.png
Untitled-1.png (5.95 KiB) Viewed 13593 times


VBoxStartup.log
(33.57 KiB) Downloaded 73 times

Re: E_FAIL (0x80004005)

PostPosted: 2. Dec 2015, 11:00
by kurzvellberg
Same happened to me, only uninstalling Avira cured the problem.

Re: E_FAIL (0x80004005)

PostPosted: 2. Dec 2015, 14:34
by k-s
Confirm, Avira related issue, uninstalling does help.

Re: E_FAIL (0x80004005)

PostPosted: 2. Dec 2015, 16:59
by Algis
Note: If do not press any buttons on error messages, then a session will start after few minutes and then you will be able to work with session without any troubles.

There will be two VB's error messages windows. But again, do not press any button on VB' s error windows, otherwise session will be closed.

My host is Windows 7 Professional with Avira installed.

Re: E_FAIL (0x80004005)

PostPosted: 2. Dec 2015, 19:02
by mrjonestech
Echoing the same, uninstalling Avira solved the problem. This has cost me a lot of money as well as lost productivity as I do all of my work for my clients in separate VM's.

Re: E_FAIL (0x80004005)

PostPosted: 2. Dec 2015, 20:57
by Dr.D.
Same here: Uninstalling Avira solved the problem.

Thanks to everyone here in this thread, you probably saved me a lot of time and nerves! :D

Re: E_FAIL (0x80004005)

PostPosted: 2. Dec 2015, 21:08
by concierge
Have Written to Avira with the same Problem

Its a payed antivirus and they do so shitty things.

Hatefull

greez

Re: [Solved] E_FAIL (0x80004005)

PostPosted: 4. Dec 2015, 16:11
by joshua__lim
I downloaded and installed 4.3.12 and the problem appears to be resolved. No need to uninstall Avira.

Re: [Solved] E_FAIL (0x80004005)

PostPosted: 4. Dec 2015, 16:28
by mpack
joshua__lim wrote:I downloaded and installed 4.3.12 and the problem appears to be resolved. No need to uninstall Avira.

That is a workaround which temporarily hides the problem. It is not a solution.

Re: [Solved] E_FAIL (0x80004005)

PostPosted: 5. Dec 2015, 05:25
by joshua__lim
mpack wrote:
joshua__lim wrote:I downloaded and installed 4.3.12 and the problem appears to be resolved. No need to uninstall Avira.

That is a workaround which temporarily hides the problem. It is not a solution.



That's good enough for me as all my VMs that were on 4.3.20 worked when I downgraded to 4.3.12. :)

Re: [Solved] E_FAIL (0x80004005)

PostPosted: 5. Dec 2015, 12:37
by mpack
Well then, lets hope you never need a feature that is newer than 4.3.12, such as Win10 host support.

Re: [Solved] E_FAIL (0x80004005)

PostPosted: 8. Dec 2015, 12:08
by Timbo_
Just waiting (about 3min) is a workaround for me too. You can click away the first error-box after the vm started but don't touch the one with the ok button blacked out

Re: [Solved] E_FAIL (0x80004005)

PostPosted: 12. Dec 2015, 12:11
by JMe
I was having this problem with VirtualBox 4.3.20, then I upgraded to 5.0, but it still failed. So I found this thread and uninstall avira and the problem was gone. So, I will install another antivirus.

Re: [Solved] E_FAIL (0x80004005)

PostPosted: 13. Dec 2015, 14:56
by CornelisJ
JMe wrote:I was having this problem with VirtualBox 4.3.20, then I upgraded to 5.0, but it still failed. So I found this thread and uninstall avira and the problem was gone. So, I will install another antivirus.

There is a workaround that allows you to use VirtualBox and also keep using Avira Antivirus.
See https://forums.virtualbox.org/viewtopic ... 95#p347694