[Solved] E_FAIL (0x80004005)

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.

[Solved] E_FAIL (0x80004005)

Postby joshua__lim » 1. Dec 2015, 14:29

Hi, I'm using version 4.3.20r96997. I encountered the above error when I tried to start any of my vm guests. It was working previously and I remembered shutting them down properly.

Image

This was followed by a popout box:

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
Failed to open a session for the virtual machine Windows7Embedded.

The virtual machine 'Windows7Embedded' has terminated unexpectedly during startup with exit code 1 (0x1).  More details may be available in 'D:\Data\VirtualMachines\virtualboxmachines\Windows7Embedded\Logs\VBoxStartup.log'.

Result Code: E_FAIL (0x80004005)
Component: Machine
Interface: IMachine {480cf695-2d8d-4256-9c7c-cce4184fa048}


I've attached the VBoxStartup.log, please help me. Thanks!
Attachments
VBoxStartup.log
(24.71 KiB) Downloaded 886 times
Last edited by joshua__lim on 4. Dec 2015, 16:09, edited 1 time in total.
joshua__lim
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2. Dec 2010, 18:12
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows 2008

Re: E_FAIL (0x80004005)

Postby scottgus1 » 1. Dec 2015, 17:48

4.3.20 is rather early in the R&D process the developers went though to get the security hardening process going well. Try a later version in 4.3, latest if possible.
scottgus1
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 11630
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: E_FAIL (0x80004005)

Postby bwalog6 » 1. Dec 2015, 21:02

(pending deletion)
Last edited by bwalog6 on 2. Dec 2015, 12:20, edited 1 time in total.
bwalog6
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 1. Dec 2015, 20:51

Re: E_FAIL (0x80004005)

Postby scottgus1 » 1. Dec 2015, 21:23

Bwalog6, Great that you put the log in! Most folks don't right away. Very similar problems with the same error message may not be similar in cause. It's best you start a new thread so we don't confuse Joshua's issue.
scottgus1
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 11630
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: E_FAIL (0x80004005)

Postby Blue Dude » 1. Dec 2015, 21:46

I hate to say it, but I just started getting this error today on all VM's. I changed nothing, installed nothing, and they worked yesterday.

Using 4.3.30 on Windows 7 x64 host. Avira Free Antivirus. Last MS update was more than 2 weeks ago. Tried reinstalling VB, with no effect.
Attachments
VBoxStartup.zip
(18.35 KiB) Downloaded 532 times
Blue Dude
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 30. Mar 2013, 15:56

Re: E_FAIL (0x80004005)

Postby michaln » 1. Dec 2015, 22:15

Blue Dude wrote:I hate to say it, but I just started getting this error today on all VM's. I changed nothing, installed nothing, and they worked yesterday.

Windows Update?
michaln
Oracle Corporation
 
Posts: 2969
Joined: 19. Dec 2007, 15:45
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Any and all

Re: E_FAIL (0x80004005)

Postby mrjonestech » 1. Dec 2015, 22:33

I have VirtualBox installed on three different machines, all are Windows 7 64bit and ALL THREE are having this exact same issue as of today.

On my primary laptop I paused the VM I work from last night and came back today and tried to restore the session. I got back into the VM briefly before it aborted and I cannot get it to start up again at all. I'm getting the following error on it:

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
Failed to open a session for the virtual machine XP Leapforce.

The virtual machine 'XP Leapforce' has terminated unexpectedly during startup with exit code 1 (0x1).  More details may be available in 'C:\Users\mrjones\VirtualBox VMs\XP Leapforce\Logs\VBoxHardening.log'.

Result Code: E_FAIL (0x80004005)
Component: MachineWrap
Interface: IMachine {f30138d4-e5ea-4b3a-8858-a059de4c93fd}


I tried to start up a CentOS VM I have on the same machine, which had been completely shut down the last time I used it and get the same error when I try to start it up:

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
Failed to open a session for the virtual machine CentOS 6.5x64.

The virtual machine 'CentOS 6.5x64' has terminated unexpectedly during startup with exit code 1 (0x1).  More details may be available in 'C:\Users\mrjones\VirtualBox VMs\CentOS 6.5x64\Logs\VBoxHardening.log'.

Result Code: E_FAIL (0x80004005)
Component: MachineWrap
Interface: IMachine {f30138d4-e5ea-4b3a-8858-a059de4c93fd}


In the event this was an error already addressed, I updated VirtualBox to the current version available (VirtualBox-5.0.10-104061-Win.exe) on this machine yet the problem persists.

On one of my desktop in my home office I tried to restore a session on a VM to find the same error. I then tried to fire up another VM which was properly shut down and, again the same error:

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
Failed to open a session for the virtual machine windows 2003 R2 client vm1.

The VM session was aborted.

Result Code: E_FAIL (0x80004005)
Component: SessionMachine
Interface: ISession {7844aa05-b02e-4cdd-a04f-ade4a762e6b7}


Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
Failed to open a session for the virtual machine XP sandbox.

The virtual machine 'XP sandbox' has terminated unexpectedly during startup with exit code 1 (0x1).  More details may be available in 'C:\Users\mrjones\VirtualBox VMs\XP sandbox\Logs\VBoxStartup.log'.

Result Code: E_FAIL (0x80004005)
Component: MachineWrap
Interface: IMachine {f30138d4-e5ea-4b3a-8858-a059de4c93fd}


My backup desktop is also having the same error on the one VM I have on there.

All of these issues started today. If it was happening on just one PC I wouldn't raise an eyebrow and would just reinstall it completely, but to have the same issue across three very different machines (the laptop is an i3-330um w/8GB RAM, the all-in-one desktop is an Athlon X-II 235 w/4GB RAM, and the backup desktop is a Pentium D-950 w/4GB RAM) and to see this being reported here leads me to believe that this is going to end up being an extremely widespread issue.

Part of me believes it has something to do with the date, 12/01/2015.
mrjonestech
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 1. Dec 2015, 21:58

Re: E_FAIL (0x80004005)

Postby k-s » 1. Dec 2015, 23:52

Exactly the same as described by mrjonestech, all VM's are affected, update doesn't help.

I receive this error
Unbenannt.PNG
Unbenannt.PNG (24.69 KiB) Viewed 51773 times


If I click "OK", I receive "Failed to open a session for the virtual machine...", but if I do nothing and wait long enough, VM starts with no network connection and some other minor issues and closes if I close the error window.

// upd, related issues
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=74929
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=74926
k-s
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 1. Dec 2015, 23:39

Re: E_FAIL (0x80004005)

Postby Blue Dude » 2. Dec 2015, 00:40

michaln wrote:
Blue Dude wrote:I hate to say it, but I just started getting this error today on all VM's. I changed nothing, installed nothing, and they worked yesterday.

Windows Update?


No. It's up to date but the latest update installed on 11/12/15.
Blue Dude
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 30. Mar 2013, 15:56

Re: E_FAIL (0x80004005)

Postby mrjonestech » 2. Dec 2015, 00:51

michaln wrote:
Blue Dude wrote:I hate to say it, but I just started getting this error today on all VM's. I changed nothing, installed nothing, and they worked yesterday.

Windows Update?


in my case no. I don't have automatic updates enabled anywhere in my environment (got burned too many times).
mrjonestech
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 1. Dec 2015, 21:58

Re: E_FAIL (0x80004005)

Postby mrjonestech » 2. Dec 2015, 00:55

k-s wrote:// upd, related issues
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=74929
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=74926


adding on:

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=74919 (the error shows up in a later reply to that thread in a CMD box screenshot)
mrjonestech
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 1. Dec 2015, 21:58

Re: E_FAIL (0x80004005)

Postby paia » 2. Dec 2015, 01:17

Same problem here, the error started appearing today. Last updated apps were Avira Antivirus and NVIDIA GeForce Experience. I see Avira in previous post, maybe it is causing the problem.

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
The virtual machine 'win10' has terminated unexpectedly during startup with exit code 1 (0x1). More details may be available in 'E:\VirtualBox\win10\Logs\VBoxHardening.log'.
Návratový kód:
E_FAIL (0x80004005)
Komponenta:
MachineWrap
Rozhraní:
IMachine {f30138d4-e5ea-4b3a-8858-a059de4c93fd}
Attachments
VBoxHardening.zip
(3.25 KiB) Downloaded 210 times
paia
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2. Dec 2015, 01:10
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows 10, Ubuntu

Re: E_FAIL (0x80004005)

Postby mrjonestech » 2. Dec 2015, 02:36

paia wrote:Same problem here, the error started appearing today. Last updated apps were Avira Antivirus and NVIDIA GeForce Experience. I see Avira in previous post, maybe it is causing the problem.

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
The virtual machine 'win10' has terminated unexpectedly during startup with exit code 1 (0x1). More details may be available in 'E:\VirtualBox\win10\Logs\VBoxHardening.log'.
Návratový kód:
E_FAIL (0x80004005)
Komponenta:
MachineWrap
Rozhraní:
IMachine {f30138d4-e5ea-4b3a-8858-a059de4c93fd}


interesting you would mention Avira. I do use Avira on two of my machines. The backup machine, however, doesn't have AV at all (laziness).

Just to double check, I'm installing VBox 5.0.10 on the backup machine in the CentoOS 7 install I have on it. I'll post those results when I get it up and running.
mrjonestech
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 1. Dec 2015, 21:58

Re: E_FAIL (0x80004005)

Postby Blue Dude » 2. Dec 2015, 04:10

I disabled Avira for startup, rebooted and still had an issue. I might have to uninstall it entirely and retry. It did update overnight so it might be the common factor disabling VB.

Edit: It's Avira. I attempted a VM start and it hanged up, then began the Avira uninstall. During the uninstall, the VM started and now it works normally. Something about Avira Antivirus breaks Virtualbox.
Blue Dude
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 30. Mar 2013, 15:56

Re: E_FAIL (0x80004005)

Postby mrjonestech » 2. Dec 2015, 08:13

Well, I installed Virtualbox in the CentOS 7 drive on my Pentium D 950 machine and transferred the VM I use about 98% of the time from this laptop to it. It fired right up and I was able to work in it (though there was weirdness with the top and bottom of the screen in full screen mode, I'll likely file a bug report for it). It seems that this issue is Windows-centric.
mrjonestech
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 1. Dec 2015, 21:58

Next

Return to VirtualBox on Windows Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 51 guests