No bridged mode with 5.0.4 on Windows 7

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.

No bridged mode with 5.0.4 on Windows 7

Postby hugen13 » 9. Sep 2015, 15:28

Mod Edit: Possible workaround here - Do not post until you have tried it.
-----------------------------------------

Hi,

updated from 5.0.2 to 5.0.4 today. Running on Windows 7 with Ubuntu and Debian servers as guests. Bridged mode does not work anymore. Guest gets IP over DHCP but no ping possible from host, no services (apache, ssh) available. Back to 5.0.2, everything is working again. Nothing changed on guest systems.

Uninstall 5.0.2 first and install 5.0.4 does not solve the problem.

Anton

Edit: Added 'Windows 7' to subject.
Last edited by hugen13 on 10. Sep 2015, 08:28, edited 2 times in total.
hugen13
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 9. Sep 2015, 15:17

Re: No bridged mode on 5.0.4

Postby OliverOne » 9. Sep 2015, 16:09

I found a similar problem! All guests (Windows or Linux) do not access to the Host PC. Downgraded also to the 5.02.
OliverOne
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 18. Sep 2014, 15:49
Location: France
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: All Windows

Re: No bridged mode on 5.0.4

Postby phansen » 9. Sep 2015, 17:35

I had the same problem. After downgrading back to 5.0.2 it is working as normal.
phansen
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 25. Mar 2014, 04:50

Re: No bridged mode on 5.0.4

Postby Giusi » 9. Sep 2015, 19:28

hugen13 wrote:Hi,

updated from 5.0.2 to 5.0.4 today. Running on Windows 7 with Ubuntu and Debian servers as guests. Bridged mode does not work anymore. Guest gets IP over DHCP but no ping possible from host, no services (apache, ssh) available. Back to 5.0.2, everything is working again. Nothing changed on guest systems.

Uninstall 5.0.2 first and install 5.0.4 does not solve the problem.

Anton


bridge network is the main issue in win 10 host with vbox
not yet solved
cause the win 10 is not in the s.o officially supported yet
see the user manual
Giusi
 
Posts: 165
Joined: 11. Aug 2015, 15:18

Re: No bridged mode on 5.0.4

Postby EspenC » 9. Sep 2015, 20:14

As you can see, he's not running on a Windows 10 host, he's running on a Windows 7 host and Windows 7 is a supported host OS.
I can confirm that I have the exact same issue on my Windows 8.1 host, running different Linux guests (Ubuntu, CentOS, Fedora).
I see the exact same as posted above, the guest OS will get IP from DHCP and correct IP addresses, but from the host, I can not ping the guests.
This happens both when upgrading 5.0.2 to 5.0.4 and if I first uninstall 5.0.2 and then install 5.0.4 after reboot.

Uninstalling Virtual Box 5.0.4 and installing 5.0.2 fixes it.
EspenC
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 9. Sep 2015, 20:08

Re: No bridged mode on 5.0.4

Postby LastWord » 9. Sep 2015, 22:46

I confirm breaking of networking on all of my guest systems on Windows 7 (x64) host after upgrading from 5.0.2 to 5.0.4.

When I started Kubuntu or Winows XP x64 guests, which were previously working with network bridging, I got error messages regarding non-availability of my physical network adapters.

I have three physical network adapters on Windows 7 (x64) host and immediately after upgrading from 5.0.2 to 5.0.4 my VirtualBox found none of them in my VirtualBox guest configurations.

I tried to reinstal (repair) VirtualBox 5.0.4, rebooted my Windows 7 (x64) host and then one of my three physical network adapters ("Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC" as shown in Control Panel of my host system) appeared in my VirtualBox in guest configurations.

The two others (both are "Intel(R) 82574L Gigabit Network Connection") are still missing from my VirtualBox in guest configurations, but are available and working fine in my host system.
Last edited by LastWord on 9. Sep 2015, 23:29, edited 2 times in total.
LastWord
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 18. Sep 2011, 12:24
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows XP (64 bit), Kubuntu (64 bit)

Re: No bridged mode on 5.0.4

Postby KarenK » 9. Sep 2015, 23:02

Having the same problem as well, I'm very much a novice to try and solve such issues and have been working on it all day. Finally came upon this forum.

I have a Windows 7 64bit host and the guests are all WXP 32bit. The set up has literally worked for years until today after the upgrade.

I switched back to 4.3 and everything is working perfect again.
KarenK
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 11. Jan 2013, 15:21

Re: No bridged mode with 5.0.4 on Windows 7

Postby freezer » 10. Sep 2015, 17:49

I can confirm the same behavior. Upgraded to 5.0.4 and lost network connectivity between my host (Win7 x64) and my clients (multiple different versions of Windows). Downgrade to 5.0.2 fixed the problem, my networking is working as expected again. I'm glad I found this thread, at least others can confirm the same issue and I'm not seeing some random problem.
freezer
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 10. Sep 2015, 17:46

Re: No bridged mode with 5.0.4 on Windows 7

Postby enzo1982 » 10. Sep 2015, 18:27

I can confirm this issue and add some more details:

While the host and guest cannot reach each other on the network, both can reach any other devices. For example, I can ping my router and my mobile phone from a guest.
enzo1982
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 10. Sep 2015, 18:23

Re: No bridged mode with 5.0.4 on Windows 7

Postby Groucho » 10. Sep 2015, 20:21

I have the same problem. 5.0.0 worked fine yesterday. today upgraded to 5.0.4.

Host: Win7 64bit. Guest: any.

Guest gets can get out just fine but you can't ping it or access any ports from the host.

One more thing. I found "Unknown device" under Other devices in my host's device manager. It may have been there all along and is unrelated to this problem, idk.

Update: The "Unknown device" that I mentioned above isn't related.
Groucho
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 10. Sep 2015, 20:15

Re: No bridged mode with 5.0.4 on Windows 7

Postby Legorol » 11. Sep 2015, 01:11

Legorol
 
Posts: 93
Joined: 11. Mar 2014, 21:40

Re: No bridged mode with 5.0.4 on Windows 7

Postby David Yin » 15. Sep 2015, 20:41

I have same issue.

The bridged mode get an IP.

Bet it is very slow in SSH connection.

Host: Win 7
Guest: Ubuntu 14.04
David Yin
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 15. Sep 2015, 20:40
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Ubuntu, Centos

Re: No bridged mode with 5.0.4 on Windows 7

Postby noteirak » 15. Sep 2015, 21:33

For those affected by this issue, the quick fix (until the issue is resolved) is to force VirtualBox 5.0.x to install with the NDIS5 driver:

1. Uninstall VirtualBox
2. Reinstall Virtualbox using the following command:
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
VirtualBox-x.x.x-yyyyy-Win.exe -msiparams NETWORKTYPE=NDIS5


Only post here again if it did not solve your issue.
Hyperbox - Virtual Infrastructure Manager - https://kamax.io/hbox/
Manage your VirtualBox infrastructure the free way!
noteirak
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 5198
Joined: 13. Jan 2012, 11:14
Primary OS: Debian other
VBox Version: OSE Debian
Guest OSses: Debian, Win 2k8, Win 7

Re: No bridged mode with 5.0.4 on Windows 7

Postby BoldyBoddinton » 16. Sep 2015, 09:26

I already made a thread about this, but Im using windows 10. to get bridge mode working, open your VM then goto host network properties and untick/tick IPv6 once or twice and select OK, everythig works till next reboot, rinse and repeat.
BoldyBoddinton
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 15. Sep 2012, 11:24

Re: No bridged mode with 5.0.4 on Windows 7

Postby BoldyBoddinton » 16. Sep 2015, 09:29

@Noteirak
For me (windows 10) your solution prevented VM's from opening altogether with a error about network.
BoldyBoddinton
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 15. Sep 2012, 11:24

Next

Return to VirtualBox on Windows Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 46 guests