unable to startvm with high priority

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.

unable to startvm with high priority

Postby p1234 » 7. May 2015, 08:13

I recently upgraded to 4.3.26 and now I'm unable to run my batch file that launched my VM with high priority because it seems that there are now 3 different processes that end up getting run. The parent process has the high priority but the actual VM does not which makes it slow. Here is the batch file, not much to it. Anyone found a workaround for this, or should I report it as a bug?

Batch File contents:
start "name" /high "C:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox\VirtualBox.exe" --comment name --startvm 1941c965-3dc5-4326-85ae-4400ea58b90d

Things that I've tried without any success:
- running the batch file as admin
- setting VirtualBox.exe to always run as Admin
p1234
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 7. May 2015, 08:03

Re: unable to startvm with high priority

Postby frank » 7. May 2015, 09:29

VirtualBox on Windows has certain means for hardening. This prevents external tools to change the process properties. We are aware that some users want to change the VM process priority and we will implement this, though I cannot provide you an ETA.
frank
Oracle Corporation
 
Posts: 3362
Joined: 7. Jun 2007, 09:11
Location: Dresden, Germany
Primary OS: Debian Sid
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Linux, Windows

Re: unable to startvm with high priority

Postby p1234 » 15. May 2015, 16:34

ok. I'll add it to the bug list so that I can see when/which version contains the fix. Thanks
p1234
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 7. May 2015, 08:03


Return to VirtualBox on Windows Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 49 guests