Windows 4.3.18 specifically for errors due to security

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.

Re: Windows 4.3.18 specifically for errors due to security

Postby Duanehebert » 30. Oct 2014, 21:18

Windows 7 Ultimate
Service pack 1


I installed 4.3.18 without errors. When I try to launch one of my Linux guests (Fedora 20) I get the error:

Failed to create the virtual box com object. Application will now terminate.

Callee RC: E_INVALIDARG (0x80070057)

System is running ESET Antivirus but I disabled it during the test.

I'm attaching the vbox log file and the startup log.
Attachments
VBox.zip
(48.92 KiB) Downloaded 99 times
Duanehebert
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 27. Oct 2014, 18:28

Re: Windows 4.3.18 specifically for errors due to security

Postby MikeDiack » 4. Nov 2014, 12:19

Quick question to bird and mpack and the development team. I'm conscious things have gone a bit quiet at the moment - are there any development/interim builds you want feedback from us on?

Mike
MikeDiack
 
Posts: 66
Joined: 20. Mar 2009, 15:57
Location: UK
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win 7, Vista, XP, Linux, Win 8/ Win 8.1, Win 2000, Win NT 4

Re: Windows 4.3.18 specifically for errors due to security

Postby RelakS » 4. Nov 2014, 15:30

MikeDiack wrote:Quick question to bird and mpack and the development team. I'm conscious things have gone a bit quiet at the moment - are there any development/interim builds you want feedback from us on?


In the previous thread they said they working on the problem, but until they don't see anything worth to publish, they won't release any test build.
RelakS
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 15. Sep 2014, 09:53

Re: Windows 4.3.18 specifically for errors due to security

Postby Bob H » 4. Nov 2014, 20:45

Host: Win 7 Pro SP1 64bit
VBoxStartup.log: Attached
Host A/V: Symantec Endpoint Protection Version 12.1.5

Trying to start VM, long pause then "Starting VM" dialog appears, then "Error In supR3HardNtChildWaitFor" dialog appears. See attached capture1.jpg screenshot for both.

Clicking Abort on the Error dialog yields "VirtualBox - Error" dialog (see capture2.png screenshot) saying "Failed to open a session for the virtual machine test" along with these details:
Result Code: E_FAIL (0x80004005)
Component: Machine
Interface: IMachine {480cf695-2d8d-4256-9c7c-cce4184fa048}

Clicking OK leaves VirtualBox UI window apparently usable but after closing it there remains a running VirtualBox process that has the following startup line:

60eaff78-4bdd-042d-2e72-669728efd737-suplib-2ndchild --comment test --startvm ad9af92a-56a9-4097-ac13-ed2b0ce24312 --no-startvm-errormsgbox --sup-startup-log=C:\VMs\VirtualBox\test\Logs\VBoxStartup.log

which I cannot kill (using Process Explorer or Task Manager) and which prevents Windows from shutting down.
Attachments
Capture2.PNG
Capture2.PNG (23 KiB) Viewed 14407 times
Capture1.JPG
Capture1.JPG (98.2 KiB) Viewed 14407 times
VBoxStartup.log
(13.42 KiB) Downloaded 36 times
Bob H
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 4. Nov 2014, 20:12

Re: Windows 4.3.18 specifically for errors due to security

Postby cmcook » 5. Nov 2014, 00:34

I have been experiencing Issues with starting any virtual machine in Virtualbox version beyond 4.2.24. Every single VM fails to load in the same way.

Error in supR3HardNtChildPurify
supHardenedWinVerifyProcess failed with
verr_sup_vp_replace_virtual_memory_failed: (rc=-5673)
error.JPG
error.JPG (31.09 KiB) Viewed 14385 times

I'm assuming this is the correct thread to submit into for this. If not, please direct me to the right place.

Guess I'll just have to roll back to 4.2.24 for now...

I just tried the following setup:
Windows 7 x64 sp1 with virtualbox 4.3.18

It is a corporate laptop with the following McAfee security software:
McAfee Host Intrusion Prevention
Version number: 8.0
Build date: Sunday, December 15, 2013
Build Number: 8.0.0.2919

McAfee Agent
Version number: 4.8.0.1500
Managed

McAfee Drive Encryption Agent
Version number: 7.1.0.9452131
Language: Multiple

McAfee Drive Encryption
Version number: 7.1.0.9452131

McAfee GTI Proxy Agent
Version number: 2.0.0.614
Language: English (United States)

McAfee VirusScan Enterprise + AntiSpyware Enterprise
Version number: 8.8.0 (8.8.0.1247)
Build date: 1/16/2014
Scan engine version (32-bit): 5600.1067
Scan engine version (64-bit): 5600.1067
DAT version: 7612.0000
DAT Created on: 11/4/2014
Attachments
VBoxStartup.zip
(2.71 KiB) Downloaded 106 times
cmcook
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 5. Nov 2014, 00:15

Re: Windows 4.3.18 specifically for errors due to security

Postby Jacob Klein » 5. Nov 2014, 00:40

cmcook:

The last version in the 4.3.x line of version that did not have the "hardened security", was 4.3.12.
If you're looking for stability, while also running 4.3.x, and you don't mind losing out on the "hardened security", you might try 4.3.12 from https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Download_Old_Builds

Regards,
Jacob
Jacob Klein
 
Posts: 503
Joined: 20. Nov 2013, 01:07

Re: Windows 4.3.18 specifically for errors due to security

Postby cmcook » 5. Nov 2014, 15:31

@Jacob

Thanks for the tip. I figured all versions past my 4.2.24 build were subject to the same problem. (Guess I didn't read through the forums enough) As you suggested 4.3.12 works without issue.

Hopefully my startup log can help for future releases.
cmcook
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 5. Nov 2014, 00:15

Re: Windows 4.3.18 specifically for errors due to security

Postby mpack » 5. Nov 2014, 15:55

VirtualBox versions don't really work like that. E.g. 4.3.0 came before 4.2.24, not after. I.e. the devteam produces maintence releases for stable dev branches for quite some time.

Hardening was added to each of the 4.1.x, 4.2.x and 4.3.x development lines. Any maintenance release from July 2014 onwards has had hardening features added. However, as far as I can tell, only the 4.3.x line is being worked on to fix the problems.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 30014
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Windows 4.3.18 specifically for errors due to security

Postby GavinRayner » 6. Nov 2014, 14:39

Upgraded from 4.3.16 to 4.3.18. VirtualBox now hangs when I try to start any VM.
Host: Windows 7 SP1 64 bit
Guest: Any
Anti-Virus: Symantec Endpoint Protection 12.1.2015.2015
Attachments
VBoxStartup.log
(31.27 KiB) Downloaded 58 times
GavinRayner
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 6. Nov 2014, 14:33

Re: Windows 4.3.18 specifically for errors due to security

Postby skinnymanatee » 6. Nov 2014, 20:45

Good day representatives, administrators, and helpful technicians;

I want to install the linux-Red Hat, CenOS OS in the windows virtual box for my first linux class.

I have downloaded the Oracle virtual box for windows 4.3.18 and I have set the settings as follow:

Base memory : 1024 MB
Display: 12 MB
Space: 20 GB

Storage / Controller: IDE / IDE secondary master: CentOS-7.0-1406-x86_64-DVD.iso(3.86GB)

And the CenOS shows me the installation part, but when I press to install, the cenOS, it stays in 'running' for a long time,
so long I don't know the problem, or if it's gonna work or not, so...

Could it be that my computer is too slow?

My specifications:

Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU B980 @ 2.40GHz 2.40GHz
RAM: 4.00 GB
System type: 64-bit OS x64 based processor
Anti-virus: AVG

Regards,

skinnymanatee
Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU B980 @ 2.40GHz 2.40GHz
RAM: 4.00 GB
System type: 64-bit OS x64 based processor
Anti-virus: AVG
skinnymanatee
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 6. Nov 2014, 20:24

Re: Windows 4.3.18 specifically for errors due to security

Postby Perryg » 6. Nov 2014, 20:48

@skinnymanatee,

Your processor does not support hardware virtualization so no 64-bit guests for you. You can run 32-bit guests but they will be really slow.
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 34373
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Re: Windows 4.3.18 specifically for errors due to security

Postby skinnymanatee » 6. Nov 2014, 21:18

thanks Perryg,

I am downloading a 32 bit CenOS image, and hoping it runs...
regards,

skinnymanatee

*edit: I think the problem is that I created a 32bit guess and used a 64bit image. Updates when I finished downloading the 32bit image.
*update: It is working. a 32 bit guest works with a 32 bit image. My bad.
Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU B980 @ 2.40GHz 2.40GHz
RAM: 4.00 GB
System type: 64-bit OS x64 based processor
Anti-virus: AVG
skinnymanatee
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 6. Nov 2014, 20:24

Re: Windows 4.3.18 specifically for errors due to security

Postby ejacobsh » 8. Nov 2014, 00:22

I am having the same problems others have reported (since 4.3.12).
VirtualBox1.jpg
VirtualBox1.jpg (15.26 KiB) Viewed 14013 times

VirtualBox2.jpg
VirtualBox2.jpg (30.61 KiB) Viewed 14013 times

The error occurs with a new CentOS7 VM install and existing VMs (CentOS and Windows)
The host is a Lenovo W520, 16GB RAM, Windows 7. Symantec Endopoint Protection (12.1.5) is installed. It doesn't matter if Symantec is enabled or not.
The VirtualBox log is attached.
Attachments
VBoxStartup.log
(13.59 KiB) Downloaded 25 times
ejacobsh
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 8. Nov 2014, 00:13

Re: Windows 4.3.18 specifically for errors due to security

Postby frg » 8. Nov 2014, 12:24

Latest test build VirtualBox-4.3.19-96825-Win.exe doesn't work on XP64/Server 2003. VirtualBox-4.3.19-96602-Win.exe works fine.

Failed to open a session for the virtual machine Windows Vista x64.

Unable to load R3 module D:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox/VBoxDD.DLL (VBoxDD): GetLastError=127 (VERR_SYMBOL_NOT_FOUND).

Result Code: E_FAIL (0x80004005)
Component: Console
Interface: IConsole {8ab7c520-2442-4b66-8d74-4ff1e195d2b6}


Update test build VirtualBox-4.3.19-96800-Win.exe works so the regression must be creeped in between 96800 and 96825.
Attachments
VBox.zip
(7.82 KiB) Downloaded 45 times
VBoxStartup.zip
(33.48 KiB) Downloaded 41 times
frg
 
Posts: 74
Joined: 29. Sep 2013, 12:22

Re: Windows 4.3.18 specifically for errors due to security

Postby neuromancer » 8. Nov 2014, 16:43

Hello,
I've been using Virtualbox 4.3.18 on Windows 7 x64 SP1 for a few weeks now without issues, until today. Also using the Windows standard firewall. I just updated the Avast Antivirus Free program to version 2015.10.0.2208. Now, I get this popup whenever I try to run a VM:
Attachments
VBoxStartup.zip
(24.01 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
Image 1.jpg
Image 1.jpg (88.95 KiB) Viewed 13949 times
Last edited by neuromancer on 9. Nov 2014, 18:00, edited 3 times in total.
neuromancer
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 4. Oct 2011, 16:34
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: WinXP 32bit, Linux Mint

PreviousNext

Return to VirtualBox on Windows Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: hirak and 49 guests