Remote Display: prevent the host from seeing vm screen?

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.

Remote Display: prevent the host from seeing vm screen?

Postby VirtualVanilla » 13. Jul 2014, 00:52

Hello, Is there a way to run a VM machine on a host PC in a way that only the remote user is able to see the screen of the VM?
VirtualVanilla
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 13. Jul 2014, 00:38

Re: Remote Display: prevent the host from seeing vm screen?

Postby noteirak » 13. Jul 2014, 00:56

Headless mode doesn't create a GUI window on the host PC, and VRDE is enabled by default for remote access. See the User Manual for more info.
Hyperbox - Virtual Infrastructure Manager - https://kamax.io/hbox/
Manage your VirtualBox infrastructure the free way!
noteirak
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 5198
Joined: 13. Jan 2012, 11:14
Primary OS: Debian other
VBox Version: OSE Debian
Guest OSses: Debian, Win 2k8, Win 7

Re: Remote Display: prevent the host from seeing vm screen?

Postby lynda » 7. Aug 2019, 17:56

I want to run a VM guest.

I don't want anyone from the host (i.e. VirtualBox Manager) to have access to the guest's screen (i.e. Preview or Show display).

The VM guest needs to be private/secure.
lynda
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 7. Aug 2019, 17:52

Re: Remote Display: prevent the host from seeing vm screen?

Postby scottgus1 » 7. Aug 2019, 18:05

With Virtualbox, there is no way to lock things down on the host so the guest window cannot be seen. The only way to keep the guest screen from being visible on the host is to prevent anyone from using the host.
Human government is like that crazy uncle who hides a quarter in his fist behind his back, then asks you to guess which fist the quarter is in...
No matter which side you choose, Left or Right, both Sides are empty.
scottgus1
Volunteer
 
Posts: 4502
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win7

Re: Remote Display: prevent the host from seeing vm screen?

Postby mpack » 7. Aug 2019, 19:17

If all you want is no visible sign that a VM is running then you could just run the VM headless. You can still RDP / VNC / ssh or whatever into it (delete as necessary) - provided of course that the VM has a network connection.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 29846
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP


Return to VirtualBox on Windows Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests