VT-x not available

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.

VT-x not available

Postby Art » 19. May 2014, 03:27

Greetings,
I'm just getting into Virtual Machines and not making much progress. I am running Windows 8.1 (64 bit) on the host PC. I down loaded Oracle VB V4.3.12 r93733. When I open the VM Virtual Box manager it says my operating system is Win 8.1 (32 bit). Is that a typo or do I have the wrong version of VB? On page 15 of the User Manual it says Windows 8 32-bit and 64 bit are both supported. Does that also apply to Win 8.1?

After installing and setting up a VM when I try to "Start" it I get an error window that says "Failed to open a session for the machine Win 8.1. VT-X is not available. (VERR-VMX-NO-VMX). My host processor is an Intel Core i7 4770K 3.5 GHz. When I ran the Intel Processor Identification Utility it says that it doesn't support "Intel(R) Virtualization Technology". I checked the Bios and it says "Intel Virtualization Technology enabled" and VT-D is grayed out and can't be changed. I know the "K" version doesn't support VT-D and the locked version does but others have told me that the "K" version should work, if slower.

I tried Windows Hyper-V with little success too. Anybody have any suggestions as to what I am doing wrong?
Thanks,
Art
Art

Re: Windows 8.1 Host Network Issues

Postby loukingjr » 19. May 2014, 04:09

Art wrote:Greetings,
I'm just getting into Virtual Machines and not making much progress. I am running Windows 8.1 (64 bit) on the host PC. I down loaded Oracle VB V4.3.12 r93733. When I open the VM Virtual Box manager it says my operating system is Win 8.1 (32 bit). Is that a typo or do I have the wrong version of VB? On page 15 of the User Manual it says Windows 8 32-bit and 64 bit are both supported. Does that also apply to Win 8.1?